Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VMR9 not available anymore

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    22
    Sub,

    I've preferred create another topic to avoid overloading announcement topic about v0.14.

    When I select VMR9 and I try to start v0.14, I get the following message :

    "This system does not appear to support VMR9. Please try a different renderer."

    With previous versions, I was using it without any question.

    OS : Windows XP SP1 with all patches
    GPU : GeForce 4 MX (IGP on nVidia nForce 2 chipset) with lastest drivers (56.64) and WinTV-PVR350.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,334
    Thats strange, I've followed Microsoft's recommended procedure for a determining if a system is compatible with VMR7/VMR9. Is VMR7 working for you? VMR7 performs the same check, but obviously for VMR7 instead of VMR9. The check is quite simple, it simply creates the VMR9 object. If it fails, then the machine doesnt support VMR9. It can fail for various reasons, DirectX 9 not installed, videocard doesnt support VMR9, not enough video memory, 256 color desktop is also not supported.

    If you're familiar with GraphEdit, could you try the following to check for any errors.
    - Start GraphEdit
    - From the menu, Insert Filter -> DirectShow -> Video Mixing Renderer
    I think both VMR7 and VMR9 are both called "Video Mixing Renderer", so you may need to try both. The properties (and names of the input pins) with say if it is VMR7 or VMR9.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    22
    I've just try with GraphEdit and it won't work.

    Error message is "Filter cannot be created. Resources may be already in use." or something like that is displayed immediately.

    BTW, Dx9 is installed, I think GeForce 4MX is VMR9 capable, desktop is 32bpp and I affect about 8Mb for video memory (1024x768x32 = 3Mb if my count is correct) and most important... v0.13 was running with VMR9.

    Strange no ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,334
    Yes strange, I would expect this card to support VMR9. I must admit, I'm glad graphedit has let me off the hook.

    I also remember something about VMR9 requiring 16mb on the video card. Does your model have 16mb?




  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    22
    Hi Sub,

    Your last suggestion was good.
    I've tried *to increase video memory to 16Mb and it works. *

    Thanks again for your work and your efforts.

  6. #6
    Guest
    Hi Sub

    I got the same problem as box177, "The system does not appear to support VMR9, please try a difrent renderer".
    I am also using PVR350 (XP Pro), also for video out. v0.13 works fine with VMR9. my PC is a server so the video card is not very god, but i do not use it for displaying the video, so why does this video memory mather when i am using the PVR350 cards video out and it works fine with v0.13 ?
    I have tryed with VMR7 and i got the menu picture on the TV, but it looks like it was with 250 colors. I tryed liveTV and then my system failed with blue screen and totaly freeze.
    It was over midnight so i did not try animore and now i am at work :-)

  7. #7
    Guest
    I am home from work again and have tryed again. VMR9 stil does not work but VMR7 works.
    I the new version i can now rewind and forware in a recording, but doing it a couple of times the program freezes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,334
    I can see (in the code) why it is loading my VMR9 module when you are using the PVR350. It does this for playback of music, even though music obviously does not need the Video Mixing Renderer. I'll fix it for the next release so that it doesn't need VMR9 in this situation.




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •