Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Direct TV?

Direct TV?

After spending countless hours trying to get my new htpc/gbpvr to work, i made it to the live tv portion, and i get nothing but static picture on every channel. I am extremely new to everything here. I tried everything i could find in the forums to date, but nothing has worked. I am afraid it may be because i have direct tv, being as there are a million channels on direct tv and the tuner card (hauppauge 350) is good for 125.

Even in the hauppauge programs i only get channel 3, yay. I have also noticed that in all the configs and settings for gbpvr and wintv2000 i get the choice of cable and antenna, no satallite. So i guess my question is "can gbpvr work with direct tv satallite?"

I have tried the tuning assistant, and that got nothing only told me there were 158 channels with static...

I am also concerned it could be all of setting, video playback/decoding and such. Like i said i am new to this...

Any help would be great, thanks in advance.

Yes

Hang in there... I am a complete newbie too and it works fine with my Directv. Someone will come along here and solve your problems... I will let the experts try first, and if you don't get much response, I will dive in with my novice thoughts based on my experience.

any help at all, novice or expert, all i want is a picture...hehehe

kdobson99 - i would appreciate any input

You Directtv box will only ever be outputting the one channel that the box is current set to. You can get that single channel by either the svideo connection or composite connection, or true the tuner set to channel three.

You can add a IR Blaster to your setup so that GB-PVR can automatically force the directtv box to change channels when it needs to (for recordings etc).

You cant just tune in all the directtv channels. Directtv just doesnt work that way.

hmmm

makes sence..