Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: playback not continuous

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Waveland, MS USA
    Posts
    54

    playback not continuous

    Just recently, my gbpvr playback for recorded files gets stuck on a frame while the audio continues. I can skip forward and the frame will change and remain frozen while the audio continues. I can play the same mpg files with media player just fine. Anyone encountering the same problems? My setup is: p3-850, 512 mb of ram, hauppaugge pvr-150.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,401
    What video decoder are you using?

    Reproduce the problem then attach your gbpvr.exe-native.log file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Waveland, MS USA
    Posts
    54
    Wouldn't the decoder be the pvr-150? I will have to do some research and figure out how to do that, as I am new to htpc's and pvr's.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,401
    Wouldn't the decoder be the pvr-150?
    No, thats an ENcoder not a DEcoder.

    If you post you gbpvr.exe-native.log I'll be able to tell you which one you're using.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Waveland, MS USA
    Posts
    54
    It is a software decoder per the config program. There are 3 options there: PVR350 and sigma X and software. I don't know how to get the native log you discussed above.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,129
    Just below that there is an option for which type of software decoder you are using. It's called "video decoder". The log file will be located in (unless you installed to some other location than the default one) c:\program files\devnz\gbpvr
    I'm not always right
    GB-PVR 1.2.9
    Accent HT-400 Case, AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 1024MB, 1TB+300GB+180GB, WinXP Pro-SP2, NVidia 7600GT
    Nova-T USB2, PVR-350 recording from Dilog 355 DVB-T box, USB-UIRT (receiving & transmitting)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Waveland, MS USA
    Posts
    54
    It is using the system default. I tried the other options with no success. I am wondering if I need a hardware decoder or a faster computer. I thought that my geforce4 mx440 would handle the decoding chores, but I guess it is only used as an output device to the TV. See above for my computer details. I still have no idea how to get to the native log that you referenced earlier. I guess I need to do some research. Thanks for your patience.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Waveland, MS USA
    Posts
    54
    Stefan...Thanks. I have it now.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Waveland, MS USA
    Posts
    54
    Here it is:

    09:53:03.874 INFO Log started
    09:53:03.884 VERBOSE getSetting(ShowClosedCaptions)
    09:53:03.914 VERBOSE getSetting(UseFFDSHOW)
    09:53:03.914 VERBOSE FFDShow enabled
    09:53:03.914 VERBOSE getSetting(EnableTeleText)
    09:53:03.914 VERBOSE getSetting(HorizontalZoom)
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE Horizontal Zoom: 1.050000
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE getSetting(VerticalZoom)
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE Vertical Zoom: 1.000000
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE getSetting(HorizontalOffset)
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE Horizontal Offset: 0
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE getSetting(VerticalOffset)
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE Vertical Offset: 0
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE getSetting(LiveTVPrePlayDelay)
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE getSetting(OSDTransparency)
    09:53:03.924 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio0)
    09:53:04.004 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio1)
    09:53:04.004 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio2)
    09:53:04.004 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio3)
    09:53:04.004 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio4)
    09:53:04.004 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio5)
    09:53:04.004 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio6)
    09:53:04.014 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio7)
    09:53:04.014 VERBOSE getSetting(AspectRatio8)
    09:53:04.014 VERBOSE getSetting(TeletextRect)
    09:53:04.014 VERBOSE MinimumFilePlaySize=200000
    09:53:04.125 VERBOSE DirectShowPlayerVMR9() initialising...
    09:53:04.125 VERBOSE getSetting(OSDTransparency)

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,406
    Your P3 850 is about as low-end as you can go, but if you're careful what options you choose and what decoders you install you should be able to get it to work. I'm personally using a Celeron 1.1 GHz with good results.

    The log shows you've got fddshow enabled. This is a killer for a slow machine. Don't just uncheck it in config... uninstall it. Additionally, in case you've installed it, uninstall AC3Filter. It too will bring a slow system to it's knees. Finally, if you've installed directx 9.0c, make sure you've installed the latest patches. Until just a week or so ago 9.0c has a serious performance killer in a file called quartz.dll that affected quite a few people. With the most recent patch the problems with this file seem to be solved, but before then many people had to revert back to a quartz.dll file from 9.0b too keep from having video stuttering problems.

    Good luck,
    Tim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •