PDA

View Full Version : Live TV failure



britcub
2004-02-06, 08:52 PM
First, the software looks great - looks like it will eventually do everything my TiVo does!

Whenever I click on Live TV, I get th error "Failed to communicate with the GB-PVR Recording Service..."

I have checked and the Recording Service is running.

I can use Hauppauge WinTV 2k with no problems, and the music library works fine though.

Any help would be appreciated

britcub
2004-02-06, 10:34 PM
Doing that and switching to Overlay Manager seems to have done the trick... many thanks.

Séamus

britcub
2004-02-07, 12:17 PM
Now that I'm using Overlay Manager, any time there's an on-screen menu/guide the picture is blocked out.

Is there a fix for this?

Very gratefully,

Séamus

sub
2004-02-07, 05:04 PM
When you say 'blcked out', I assume you mean the on screen graphics are very chunky?

Unfortunately, the overlay manager does a shocking job a resizing these graphics so looks terrible unless the video windows is precisely 720x480. There is not much I can do about it (easily). The Overlay option was only really added to support those that cant get VMR with their video card. Overlay is a last resort sorry.

The VMR settings do a much better job at rendering these graphics, and also do full alpha blending giving you semi transparent graphics.

That said, I'll have a small think about it to see if I can come up with any improvements.

sub
2004-02-07, 05:34 PM
Ok, I've just made some changes for the next release that improve the OSD quality when using the Overlay Manager. Its still no VMR, but its much better than the previous release.

britcub
2004-02-07, 06:22 PM
Hi Sub

What I mean is, if the tv guide data or menu is on screen, the tv picture is not visible. Makes fast forwarding a recording a bit tricky! http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

Both the VMR settings give error messages when using live TV (I think it was "invalid pointer") which is why I'm using overlay manager.

Have to say though, the program is brilliant - I've been using Windows Media Player to playback recordings so far though.

Cheers

Séamus

britcub
2004-02-07, 06:28 PM
Oh, and I'm using a geforce 4 MX440 video card, which I think *should* be able to cope with vmr... but I've no idea why it's not!

sub
2004-02-07, 06:51 PM
britclub, if you select a different 'software mpeg2 decoder' in the config does allow you to get VMR working? Some of the MPEG2 decoders are not compatible with VMR, and will only allow connection to the Overlay manager.

britcub
2004-02-07, 09:05 PM
What an idiot I am! Changed the decoder and voilá!

Thanks Sub!

Séamus

http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/laugh.gif

sub
2004-02-07, 10:24 PM
Great. Good to hear.