PDA

View Full Version : EPG from Teletext?

MaBo
2004-02-06, 11:14 AM
Hi,
Now the new drivers for the hauppauge cards support teletext, wouldn't it be great to have the epg-data pulled from there. I don't have fast permanent internet access from my HTPC, but it is permanently connected to the TV-cable!

Most (or all) tv-stations have their programmes listed on their teletext site for the next five days or so. VTPlus can export these sites in text-format. Now the question is, does anyone know of, or is able to program a that converts these text files into (simple) wmltv files?

Maarten

Beowulf
2004-02-06, 04:30 PM
That would be interesting!
I am no programmer though..and oh! add subtitles from teletext too please!

AndyCherry
2004-02-14, 07:09 PM
Sounds like a great idea - however I don't believe they have teletext in New Zealand where sub is based, which is going to make it a bit hard for him to do it... http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

sub
2004-02-14, 07:20 PM
We do have Teletext here, but I dont think it works the same way as the UK for TV listings. We've also only got about two of our channels publishing data this way.

If someone can come up with a proof-of-concept type application (or graph or whatever), I'm sure we can implement this. The EPG source were written using a plugin architecture, so we should be able to write a Teletext EPG grabber.

MaBo
2004-02-16, 08:45 AM
Hi Guys,
Well I've started coding a vbs-script to do this. It is not that complicated when starting from vtplus with a filter.

The basis is in place, now the little bits and pieces to get it working properly have to be dealt with.

I use vbscript as this doesn't require any special software to create. Also, the task is failry simple.

When I have a first running version I'll keep you posted.

MaBo

msm
2004-02-16, 10:18 AM
Sounds good. Thanks for the hard work - please keep us informed of your progress - i for one am very interested in seeing this working,

Matt

sub