PDA

View Full Version : ImageGrabLite and XMLTVGUI



Graham
2012-03-22, 03:38 PM
I'm sure that the answer to this is in here somewhere, but I can't find it. Apologies if I have missed something obvious.

Birtles' XMLTVGUI used by many in the UK has options to include Series & Episode numbers in the subtitle.

The three options are:

<title lang="en">CSI: NY</title>
<sub-title lang="en">Smooth Criminal</sub-title>

<title lang="en">CSI: NY</title>
<sub-title lang="en">Season 7, Episode 14 of 22 - Smooth Criminal</sub-title>

<title lang="en">CSI: NY</title>
<sub-title lang="en">S7E14/22 - Smooth Criminal</sub-title>

Does imagegrablite work with with either of the two sub-title options that include season and episode numbers?

Thank you.

PS For the avoidance of doubt, I know that it looks up shows in the NPVR database.

mvallevand
2012-03-22, 08:31 PM
It should grab art but it wouldn't rename. If you want renaming it should already rename films to "title (year)" format and I could likely do it for TV series too, quite simply most of the demand for renaming has come from North Americans. Compress and upload you NPVR.db3 file and I will have a look. I think there's at least too other formats I need to watch for, one for Season 1 that just has episode and one logic path when there is no information at all.

Martin

Graham
2012-03-22, 09:10 PM
Compress and upload you NPVR.db3 file and I will have a look.

Database is at ...

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/63058072/npvr.zip

It occurred to me that a SubtitleParse.ini file might be an option. My ini might contain the line 'X "-" Subtitle' (literally). Imagegrab would assign (e.g.) S7E14/22 to variable X (and forget about it). The original subtitle would be asssigned to variable subtitle. The spaces and the "-" character would be treated as delimiters and ignored.

All based on the parse command in REXX ... http://vm.uconn.edu/~pets/rexxp3.html

Thanks for looking. Graham.

mvallevand
2012-03-22, 09:51 PM
That looks pretty easy to rename, and yes I would be using a regex something like S(\d+)E(\d+)/\d+[ -]+(.*) or S\w+ (\d+), E\w+ (\d+).+- (.+) to rename it to

CSI NY.S07E14.Smooth Criminal

But I don't think I will make it into an ini file setting. I'll whip something up tonight.

It will not work with some of the shows like Eastender that show a single number, and a few other odd files,

Martin

Graham
2012-03-22, 10:01 PM
For what it's worth, I'm not bothered about renaming the files and wouldn't want you to go to the trouble on my account. I just quite like the idea of having a different image for each episode of a show.

Thanks. Graham.

PS I mentioned the "parse" cos it's about a billion times easier to understand than ...
S(\d+)E(\d+)/\d+[ -]+(.*) or S\w+ (\d+), E\w+ (\d+).+- (.+)

mvallevand
2012-03-23, 12:17 AM
You should be ok with imageGrabLite as is, then. Your EPG doesn't doesn't have first run data, so it won't always be perfect but you should get art for most of your shows. You will even get quite a few in your first run since you have several scheduled recordings and it will give you an idea of what to expect.

imageGrabLite --updateepg

Martin

Graham
2012-03-23, 01:37 AM
imageGrabLite --updateepg


I have already done that and got one image per series. What I was hoping for was a postprocessing.bat that has imagegrablite --oid %3 that will give me a different image for each episode as it records. Have I missed the point? Thanks.

mvallevand
2012-03-23, 03:55 AM
ImageGrabLite doesn't support a separate image per episode yet. The rename logic is almost good enough for this now, the problem is this image is not typically available at thetvdb at the original air date so this needs to be in the GUI version that gives a little more control, it extracts random image frames from the source file when they aren't on thetvdb.

Martin

Graham
2012-03-23, 06:32 PM
the problem is this image is not typically available at thetvdb at the original air date so

I had overlooked that. I was thinking of US shows that are first shown in the UK months after their first US showing.

My original post was prompted by the use of pics in Alibert's TV Listings/Recordings. I have done a bit more work and TV Recordings appears to do things a little differently than Sub's Recordings.

Sub uses a pic from Media\Shows in Recordings to illustrate the series in the "Ready" view. Sub does not use pics for individual shows.

Alibert uses folder.jpg (from the folder containing the show) to illustrate the series in the "Ready" view or, if folder.jpg is missing uses a pic from Media\Shows. Each individual show is illustrated by its own pic from the series folder containing the show if if the pic is present in the series folder. If an indivdual show has no pic, individual shows get a pic file created for them by TV Recordings copying the folder.jpg or copying the pic from Media\Shows.

So, to cut a long (and incomprehensible) story short. Individual show pics are only useful with Alibert's TV Recordings and they get created from the Media\Shows pics (obtained by imagegrablite) when they are missing.

I don't know how much work you want to do on all this (if any) but a simple "If series name and episode name match, copy episode pic (as specified in TVDB xml) to the series folder; else copy nothing" would do it for me.

I seem to recall that the series folder (within the recordings folder) is optional!


it extracts random image frames from the source file when they aren't on thetvdb.

I have briefly experimented using ffmpeg to cut from a recording. I gave up when the random images were so random that they could have come from anywhere. Plus, I got exactly nowhere trying to cut from h.264 recordings. Too hard for me!

Thanks for listening.

mvallevand
2012-03-23, 08:32 PM
I don't know how much work you want to do on all this (if any) but a simple "If series name and episode name match, copy episode pic (as specified in TVDB xml) to the series folder; else copy nothing" would do it for me.

It's not hard work at all, I was really thinking from my own Canadian perspective (we get US shows the same time as the Americans). I will add this this weekend.


I have briefly experimented using ffmpeg to cut from a recording. I gave up when the random images were so random that they could have come from anywhere. Plus, I got exactly nowhere trying to cut from h.264 recordings. Too hard for me!

That's why I am adding this to the GUI version. It will allow you to skip through the art from the random location. I also plan on an option for grabbing the frame for the skip point, so you can see where you stopped.



Thanks for listening.

Thanks for posting, it helps getting a global perspective.

Martin