PDA

View Full Version : Music Box



Grampz
2012-02-03, 10:11 PM
I have two issues..

- What decoder if any is used when playing mp3's from my server? I cannot get my front 2 av channels to fire up. They work with npvr live, video, and recorded tv.

- I am working on getting a remote set up, and cannot find a remote menu selection to get back to npvr's main menu. I have to do a right mouse click/main menu selection.

Am I missing something again?

Greg

mvallevand
2012-02-03, 11:03 PM
I have two issues..

- What decoder if any is used when playing mp3's from my server? I cannot get my front 2 av channels to fire up. They work with npvr live, video, and recorded tv.

MB4 passes playback to NextPVR so I assume you can adjust this on the new 2.3.6 Music Renderer selection on the Decoder tab in setup.



- I am working on getting a remote set up, and cannot find a remote menu selection to get back to npvr's main menu. I have to do a right mouse click/main menu selection.

It is Esc on the keyboard Back/Exit on the Hauppgauge Remote and Return on the NMT remote, but I don't know about the MCE remote. Maybe clear based on this thread http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?t=43135

Martin

Grampz
2012-02-03, 11:24 PM
Thanx Martin...

Got the audio working.....

The "exit" button on the remote does nothing. "Esc" works great from keyboard. I would like a mb4 menu selection from top to get back to npvr main menu, which I can select from the remote by scrolling and selecting.....

Greg

mvallevand
2012-02-03, 11:27 PM
Wishlist item noted. Doesn't the clear key work?

Martin

Grampz
2012-02-03, 11:30 PM
clear key?

mvallevand
2012-02-03, 11:44 PM
My MCE remote has a clear key at the bottom and that seems to be the documented Esc key.

Martin

Grampz
2012-02-03, 11:58 PM
My old and ancient remote does not have that button/key......

Oh, hey btw could you post all your great work in a .zip format? 7 zip works good, but .zip is native to the last few windows releases. Saves users a few steps..

Listening to Pink Floyd via MB4 as I type... Ahhhhhh! Life getting better!!!

Greg

ACTCMS
2012-02-04, 12:02 AM
Listening to Pink Floyd via MB4 as I type... Ahhhhhh! Life getting better!!!

GregI'd guess "Dark Side of the Moon"...

Alex

Grampz
2012-02-04, 12:10 AM
"Dark Side of the Moon"

Definitely the best, but listening to The Division Bell.. Good work, but miss Roger Waters writing!! Saw both Floyd concerts here at Arrowhead stadium, two Roger Waters concerts, the Australian Pink Floyd show twice, and the latest The Wall concert.. Yup, me a junkie!!

Greg

mvallevand
2012-02-04, 12:25 AM
My old and ancient remote does not have that button/key......

Sorry that's the key for now and I am pretty sure it is an MCE standard key. I still am not sure I will add it to the xontext menu since I wanted to save room for new features, Esc is a key that you should define somehow.



Oh, hey btw could you post all your great work in a .zip format? 7 zip works good, but .zip is native to the last few windows releases. Saves users a few steps..

No never zip, maybe better compression formats in the future. 7zip is great work too and I am all for the sake of promoting creativity and competition. Microsoft standardizing on things by making it "easy" does as much harm as good, if they had done it earlier we might be using pkarc. Besides after you install 7zip you will find it is just as easy.

Martin

mvallevand
2012-02-04, 12:30 AM
Listening to Pink Floyd via MB4 as I type... Ahhhhhh! Life getting better!!!

Because of the "Ahhhhhh!" I was thinking "Comfortably Numb"



O.K.
Just a little pin prick
There'll be no more AHHHHHH!


Martin

ACTCMS
2012-02-04, 12:46 AM
Because of the "Ahhhhhh!" I was thinking "Comfortably Numb"
O.K.
Just a little pin prick
There'll be no more AHHHHHH!

Martin
But you might feel a little sick:eek:

Alex

Grampz
2012-02-04, 12:59 AM
Sorry that's the key for now and I am pretty sure it is an MCE standard key. I still am not sure I will add it to the xontext menu since I wanted to save room for new features, Esc is a key that you should define somehow.


Thought that standardization within the interface and developers plug ins was an issue before. There is not a standard "MCE" on my remote to handle my request. You are asking that I figure out an alternative technique to simply bring up nPVR's main menu. Why should I add more configuration/baggage to my system? Keep it simple, without giving users like me from dealing with other's input on installing a new IR control program. I spent 2+ hours of research, install, testing, and removing on that one.


7zip is great work too and I am all for the sake of promoting creativity and competition. Microsoft standardizing on things by making it "easy" does as much harm as good, if they had done it earlier we might be using pkarc. Besides after you install 7zip you will find it is just as easy.

Your choice, which I respect. 7 zip has to be run and then option to open a file. A .zip file can be opened and extracted directly from explorer with one click. MS bought the .zip ability from a very small company,

Greg

mvallevand
2012-02-04, 01:19 AM
Thought that standardization within the interface and developers plug ins was an issue before.

Standardization does not mean I have to support any old non-standard remotes. which have too few keys. What if you wanted to use the ATV remote? I can't give an update with the context menu button because my development version is not ready or I would. I would have designed it differently, but I really thought Esc was ubiquitous.


Your choice, which I respect. 7 zip has to be run and then option to open a file. A .zip file can be opened and extracted directly from explorer with one click. MS bought the .zip ability from a very small company,

If you follow the second FAQ http://www.7-zip.org/faq.html and you get one click open.

Martin

mvallevand
2012-02-04, 04:00 AM
I found this link on the Logitech site, and it seems to explain how to map the Clear button in PVR mode, but the * might even be the clear key.

http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/10160

Martin

Grampz
2012-02-05, 04:44 PM
Martin..

I set a command in irremote.ini to a hot key which effectively exits MB4, but loads up something else. From there I can exit to main menu. A work around since you don't wish to add that ability to the current MB4 menu selections.

Regarding 7 zip. How about putting an explanation and a download link on the wiki plug in pages for your apps. If I have not used 7 zip before, I would have had no clue. I still needed to google in order to get the download link.

More 2c of mine.. Prolly up to a couple of bucks now!

Greg

mvallevand
2012-02-05, 05:19 PM
I set a command in irremote.ini to a hot key which effectively exits MB4, but loads up something else. From there I can exit to main menu. A work around since you don't wish to add that ability to the current MB4 menu selections.

Now that I have found that your remote is capable (as it should be) of the clear key this is not really a high priority issue for me.


Regarding 7 zip. How about putting an explanation and a download link on the wiki plug in pages for your apps. If I have not used 7 zip before, I would have had no clue. I still needed to google in order to get the download link.

I added it the wiki glossary, however I consider the wiki a community effort so feel free to modify it. I even encourage users to update the information on my pages.

Martin

Sykor
2012-02-06, 09:24 AM
I set a command in irremote.ini to a hot key which effectively exits MB4, but loads up something else. From there I can exit to main menu. A work around since you don't wish to add that ability to the current MB4 menu selections.
Does this mean that you don't have the {esc} (in irremote.ini) as keystroke for "BACK" button, and the Exit button on your logitech to send "BACK" as ir command? It's pretty straight forward, and standart pratice on every (keyboard) controlled app.

Grampz
2012-02-06, 07:33 PM
Does this mean that you don't have the {esc} (in irremote.ini) as keystroke for "BACK" button, and the Exit button on your logitech to send "BACK" as ir command?

I have limited remote commands that the usb irc/tuner dongle seems to pick up, so not all Harmony remote commands are recognized when tested with the debug.txt procedure.

I have ordered an HP ir receiver and MCE remote which will arrive next week. I am content for now, and look forward to added abilities with the new parts. I am curious as to how I can disable the ir receiver on the dongle, so sent commands won't be read by both. First thought is to wrap the dongle, which has the cable connections, with reflective furnace tape. Thoughts?

Thanx, Greg

Grampz
2012-02-06, 10:14 PM
however I consider the wiki a community effort so feel free to modify it. I even encourage users to update the information on my pages.

I do not know how to modify wiki pages, nor feel comfortable having the ability to do so without others review and approval. npvr is a worldwide app covering many cultures and wording understanding. Kudos to those that translate their thoughts and can relate in English within the forums.

Is there a way with the "Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.9" web software to apply security and access levels? I feel that a new user should not be allowed access to all the issues discussed in the forums. It is too overwhelming...

Greg

mvallevand
2012-02-06, 11:37 PM
Grampz, who is better to update the wiki then the people using the software? Of course there is backup process and review to protect the wiki. Believe me I am no expert. It took me fifteen minutes to update the wiki for those two lines



February 05, 2012, at 12:56 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 12:57 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 01:00 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 01:01 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 01:02 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 01:11 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 01:11 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 01:12 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 01:14 PM by mvallevand -
February 05, 2012, at 01:15 PM by mvallevand -


All because I couldn't figure out how to link to [#7] Then McBainUK prettied it up for all of you later on.

Martin

Sykor
2012-02-07, 09:32 AM
I have ordered an HP ir receiver and MCE remote which will arrive next week. I am content for now, and look forward to added abilities with the new parts. I am curious as to how I can disable the ir receiver on the dongle, so sent commands won't be read by both. First thought is to wrap the dongle, which has the cable connections, with reflective furnace tape. Thoughts?
Wise decision, you won't regret it ;)
There's no need to disable the dongle's IR receiver, the only thing you have to do is remove the Irremote.ini software from startup. Without it the ir receiver in the dongle isn't used.

Grampz
2012-02-08, 02:27 AM
the only thing you have to do is remove the Irremote.ini software from startup.

All I know so far is editing the irremote.ini to customize the current remote commands for the Harmony remote. I gather that when the new parts arrive I will need a different approach. The wiki just explains the Hauppage remote, ir software, etc.. Where do I go to learn more about future setup before the parts get here?

Greg

Grampz
2012-02-08, 02:41 AM
who is better to update the wiki then the people using the software?

Thanx Martin... I wish to contribute but will need to have total understanding of the process involved before I can relax enough to write something out that makes sense to the majority.. There is a bunch of geek speak here and I want to avoid contributing to that...

Greg

Jaggy
2012-02-08, 03:51 AM
Thanx Martin... I wish to contribute but will need to have total understanding of the process involved before I can relax enough to write something out that makes sense to the majority.. There is a bunch of geek speak here and I want to avoid contributing to that...

Greg

Good luck ;) I have been using HTPC (mainly Gb/Next PVR) software for many years now & I still don't "totally understand the process involved"

As for the wiki "new/new'ish" users are the best users to write wiki instructions, before they start understanding toooooooo much, therefore eliminating the geek speak as you put it.

If you are uncomfortable editing the wiki directly (& I can understand that feeling as I still remember how I felt when I first started doing it) you can always write your instructions/changes in the Documentation forum & one of the wiki gurus can then format & merge it onto the wiki.