PDA

View Full Version : [Plugin] Pandora Internet Radio



cncb
2011-12-12, 09:35 PM
This is the support thread for the Pandora (http://www.pandora.com) Internet Radio plugin described in the wiki here: http://www.gbpvr.com/nwiki/pmwiki.php?n=Plugin.PandoraRadio

I will repeat the disclaimers here:

Internet Explorer 9 (only tested with this version but may work with others) and .NET Framework 3.5 are required. A free Pandora account is also necessary. Since a browser window is used for playback this only works on PCs and not on hardware "extenders".

Note that if you can't get Pandora to work in Internet Explorer outside of NPVR the plugin will not work. The plugin also does not bypass the geographic limitations of Pandora in any way (it seems to only be available in the USA at the moment).

Also note that since this plugin relies on the IE browser, simulated keystrokes, and the Pandora website to operate, don't be surprised if it is not terribly reliable (e.g. web page loading issues, focus issues, changes to the Pandora website breaking things, etc.).

TomH
2011-12-13, 05:50 AM
Great stuff, thanks for this!
Love it when something works right out of the box.
Thanks for the careful instructions.
TomH

cncb
2011-12-13, 02:15 PM
Thanks, TomH. I'm glad it's working for you.

cncb
2011-12-15, 03:07 PM
On my NMT (eGreat M34a) Pressing UP for stations works, I get the screen that lists my Pandora 'Stations' and it is correct. Upon selecting a station the screen clears back to the 'Press up for stations" screen and just hangs.

Any ideas on what I can try to do to get this working on the NMT?


Sorry, the plugin uses a browser window for playback and so will only work on a PC.

TomH
2011-12-15, 03:32 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.

Sorry to hear that it's PC-only -- that isn't working for the primary use/value of nPVR
Maybe there'll be a way someday ;)

Cheers,
TomH

Grampz
2011-12-16, 02:15 AM
Will Pandora plugin work with the Firefox browser?

cncb
2011-12-16, 03:47 AM
Will Pandora plugin work with the Firefox browser?

It uses the .NET browser control which is Internet Explorer so you can't make it use Firefox.

johnsonx42
2011-12-21, 06:18 AM
I can't pause or stop playback... the only way I've been able to do it so far is to just hit the power button on my remote (sends a Ctrl-F4) which closes NextPVR.exe itself. What am I missing?

cncb
2011-12-21, 01:57 PM
I can't pause or stop playback... the only way I've been able to do it so far is to just hit the power button on my remote (sends a Ctrl-F4) which closes NextPVR.exe itself.

What remote are you using and what commands does it send? Both work find on my standard MCE remote. It responds to the standard 'CTRL+S' ('Media Stop') to stop/close the Pandora player and 'CTRL+Q' ('Media Pause') to pause/play. Note that 'CTRL+Q' doesn't currently work directly from the keyboard (only works from the remote) since it seems to pass the keystroke on to the browser window.

johnsonx42
2011-12-21, 08:27 PM
I'm using the standard Hauppauge remote, with EventGhost capturing the button presses and passing keyboard commands... it's worked for everything else in NPVR....

oh, I just realized I don't have the Stop button mapped at all in EventGhost (I could swear it used to be... where did it go?), and the pause button sends a keyboard ctrl+q which you just said doesn't work. will fix and report back.

Thanks.

Grampz
2012-01-21, 01:20 AM
I have been unable to get the plug in to work with latest and prior npvr versions. Looked through the logs and could not find anything pertinent.

32737

Followed the setup, and am able to use within IE9..

Greg

Grampz
2012-01-21, 01:26 AM
When I try to enter the feed url in a browser, I get the following response..


HTTP ERROR: 403

Listener has privacy setting enabled

RequestURI=/radio/feeds/people/<I removed user name>/stations.xml

Powered by Jetty://


Any clues?

Greg

Grampz
2012-01-21, 01:37 AM
Ok, I found it. If others run into this, one needs to go to Pandora site, edit profile, change from private to public! Now, I can scroll through the stations and pick one then get the Pandora splash screen with the station listed in upper corner, but that's it! No playback..

Greg

cncb
2012-01-21, 04:02 AM
When you say "no playback" do you mean the Pandora player windows is never launched/shown? Or does it show and then get stuck loading?

Grampz
2012-01-22, 07:12 AM
This is as far as it gets, and is stuck...

32758

cncb
2012-01-22, 02:43 PM
I have seen this behavior occasionally too. To get around it I hit stop to close the Pandora player and try a different station. I repeat this with a different station until it eventually loads properly for me. Sorry, I'm not sure what is causing it - one of the many potential problems having to rely on a browser...

Grampz
2012-01-22, 08:04 PM
I have installed the Blue Retro skin, and am now no longer able to view plugin properties. Manually editing the config.xml doew no good. Is this skin incompatible? Will post similar to the Blue Retro thread!

Greg

Grampz
2012-01-22, 08:30 PM
Copied the default skin to the blueretro skin folder and now shows up properly in npvr plugin setings...

After starting, it shows popup to select stations. when station comes up, the pandora splash screen appears as before. Difference now is that the mouse freezes, no right click ability, and only recovery is to end the npvr app via task manager.

Greg

cncb
2012-01-22, 09:07 PM
Use CTRL+S to close the player/browser (assuming that the browser window doesn't have focus).

Grampz
2012-01-22, 09:35 PM
Use CTRL+S to close the player/browser (assuming that the browser window doesn't have focus).

Does not work. Still need to kill the app!

Greg

cncb
2012-01-23, 03:53 AM
I've never seen this before. If this doesn't occur with the default skin then it would seem that it might be a problem with using an alternate skin and copying the skin files over might not be enough (I've never tried a different skin).

Jaggy
2012-01-23, 10:47 AM
Technically with "my skins" I can't see any reason copying the plugin skin from default into BRVE+ (or JustRetro) shouldn't work as I have all the fonts & colours etc. from default defined in my global.xml files for just this purpose (I'm not saying it will work for other skins though). I can't test this (or do a plugin skin) myself as I don't live in the States therefore Pandora won't work for me.

cncb
2012-01-23, 06:29 PM
Sorry, I can't reproduce this. I installed the BlueRetroVE+ skin, copied the PandoraRadio default skin directory over, and it runs fine without any problems. NPVR always has focus after the Pandora player window is launched so Ctrl+s closes the window and "Up" displays the top menu as expected. You should eventually see a loading error message in the Pandora player window (message supplied by the Pandora website). Do you not see that when it fails to load? What operating system are you running?

Grampz
2012-01-25, 01:07 PM
I am running Win 7-64. At 6:22am I started Pandora and it froze as before. Had no mouse, crlt-s does nothing. Was unable to use alt-enter to toggle out of full screen node. The time shown at top of Pandora screen never changed and it showed the station selected. Had to end the npvr app via task manager.

I drilled through the npvr logs and was unable to decipher whether it would show pandora startup and failure. I did find something of interest.

2012-01-25 06:21:25.008 [INFO][3] last notified version: 2.3.6
2012-01-25 06:21:26.394 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="ButtonList"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.419 [ERROR][1] Failed to find element: /Skin/Element[@name="ListView"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.420 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="ListView"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.420 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="ListView"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.420 [ERROR][1] Failed to find element: /Skin/Element[@name="ListSelectionMetaData"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.420 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="ListSelectionMetaData"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.420 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="ListSelectionMetaData"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.420 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="ListView"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.424 [ERROR][1] Failed to find element: /Skin/Element[@name="CoversView"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.424 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="CoversView"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.424 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="CoversView"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.424 [ERROR][1] Failed to find element: /Skin/Element[@name="CoversSelectionMetaData"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.424 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="CoversSelectionMetaData"]
2012-01-25 06:21:26.424 [DEBUG][1] Element not found: /Skin/Element[@name="CoversSelectionMetaData"]

There is a lot of these. Surely not related as the time shows before Pandora startup. May be normal? This was from npvr.log1.

2012-01-25 06:24:31.355 [DEBUG][1] OnKeyDown() called: {ALT}Menu, Alt
2012-01-25 06:24:31.355 [DEBUG][1] OnKeyDown() called: {ALT}Menu, Alt
2012-01-25 06:24:31.356 [DEBUG][1] OnKeyDown() called: {ALT}Menu, Alt
2012-01-25 06:24:31.356 [DEBUG][1] OnKeyDown() called: {ALT}Menu, Alt
2012-01-25 06:24:31.359 [DEBUG][1] raw message: C0
2012-01-25 06:24:31.359 [DEBUG][1] raw message: C0
2012-01-25 06:24:31.365 [DEBUG][1] CoversView. Alpha:255
2012-01-25 06:24:31.366 [DEBUG][1] CoversView. Alpha:255
2012-01-25 06:24:39.700 [DEBUG][1] CoversView. Alpha:255
2012-01-25 06:24:39.820 [DEBUG][1] storing Position (1):0,0
2012-01-25 06:24:39.821 [DEBUG][1] storing Size (1):1049,624
2012-01-25 06:24:39.821 [DEBUG][1] TV Listings: Got event EXITING
2012-01-25 06:24:39.823 [INFO][1] TV Listings: RecordingSchedule: deactivated.
2012-01-25 06:24:39.831 [INFO][1] Exiting...
2012-01-25 06:24:39.831 [INFO][1] Done.


This was from npvr.log. It looks to me that npvr was still running, and shut down properly when forced. Complete log files attached. A focus issue makes sense!

Greg

Grampz
2012-01-25, 01:29 PM
no mouse, crlt-s does nothing. Was unable to use alt-enter to toggle out of full screen node. The time shown at top of Pandora screen never changed and it showed the station selected. Had to end the npvr app via task manager.

When using the default skin, the above does not apply. Functionality remains but no playback! Trying different stations makes no difference..

Greg

cncb
2012-01-25, 02:10 PM
I'm really not sure what is going on. It might be an Adobe Flash Player issue with the embedded browser. Maybe try this: In Programs and Features uninstall all instances of Adobe Flash Player. Then, open NPVR and in the Default skin try to play a Pandora station. It should somehow indicate to you that you need to install Adobe Flash. Try to navigate and install Flash within the Pandora player window/browser inside NPVR. Restart NPVR and try to play a station again.

Unfortunately, there won't be any clues as to why the player is not loading in the NPVR logs because it is all up to the browser to load the web page and it is all internal to the Pandora web site at that point.

Grampz
2012-01-25, 02:37 PM
I tried the recommendation, but no indication to install Flash. One thing which may be normal is when I run npvr in full screen, start Pandora, press alt-enter to toggle out of full screen. Pandora browser remains same size. Any other app which I may start will show under the Pandora browser. Ctrl-s only closes the browser when alt-tabbing puts npvr back in focus.

I originally installed Pandora with Firefox as the default browser. Changed default to IE9 as a test. No difference, probably doesn't matter anyway.

Greg

cncb
2012-01-25, 05:29 PM
The Pandora window behavior is expected because it is a separate window displayed on top of NPVR. When you toggle out of full screen if you exit the Pandora screen and then go back in it should be resized and positioned appropriately.

I just tried uninstalling Flash on one of my PCs and I get similar behavior to what you were seeing before: the Pandora background image is shown but it never tries to load or gives any loading error or any prompt to install Flash (however, I never have to kill NPVR as Ctrl+s always works for me). So, make sure you uninstall all instances of Flash in Programs & Features as I described before. Then, with NPVR closed open IE and navigate to 'http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/'. Install the latest Flash Player from there and try NPVR again. If it still doesn't work and you never get any loading error displayed in the Pandora player window it suggests a more fundamental issue with your setup that I unfortunately can't identify at the moment.

cncb
2012-05-18, 08:44 PM
I'm not sure if anyone is still using this, but I just wanted to let you know I will probably be pulling this plugin from the Wiki soon. I've wasted a lot of time trying to figure out and fix the Pandora loading problems with no success. Also, their "unofficial" API that sends song information is not reliable anymore (pretty much never sends information).

I would recommend just using the Kylo full-screen browser. It's not quite as convenient but is very reliable and you can access other online music services too like Slacker, etc.

johnsonx42
2012-06-29, 03:11 AM
bummer... I hadn't used it in awhile, but wanted to in the last few days and couldn't get it to work so I came here looking to see if there was an update I needed.

Oh well, you can't make it work if Pandora won't give you the needed data. Thanks for the work you did, it was great for awhile!