PDA

View Full Version : Network Recorder from a Remote Machine



mikeh49
2011-08-31, 06:19 PM
I'm trying to set up Network Recorder (NR) to access the firewire tuner on Machine A to watch live TV on Machine B. I have the NR config file on B set to the IP and port of Machine A. When I try to watch on B, I get the ...please wait... and then a black screen. NRecord log snippet from B attached. It looks like B communicates with the tuner on A, but doesn't/can't write to the buffer directory on B. No file is created there. I have the buffer folder on B shared using the standard Win file sharing dialog, and everybody has read and write permission. I can see it from A and copy files to it using Explorer.

This is probably a sharing issue that I am too thick to understand. A "Peter Rabbit" explanation is needed, I think.

mvallevand
2011-08-31, 09:08 PM
Did you confirm using graphedit that the graph you are trying to run works and writes the the D:\ okay?

Martin

mikeh49
2011-08-31, 11:46 PM
The graph on machine A (the one with the firewire tuner) can indeed write to d:\npvr buffer\ on the remote machine B. I entered the filename in the npvr ts writer filter using the explorer-like dialog box by opening the network tree, it was in the form: \\MIKE\NPVR Buffer\

mvallevand
2011-08-31, 11:57 PM
But can you write using the drive letter? If not try

<RecordingsReplace>D:\NPVR Buffer?\\MIKE\NPVR Buffer\</RecordingsReplace>
<LiveReplace>D:\NPVR Buffer?\\MIKE\NPVR Buffer\</LiveReplace>

Martin

mikeh49
2011-09-01, 12:08 AM
Ah, I see what you're getting at. I don't know how the graph on A would know which d: to write to without a machine/address identifier. Now I see what your replace tags might be for.

mikeh49
2011-09-01, 12:48 AM
That did it! Once I figured out that I had to restart the recording service to pick up changes to the Network Recorder xml file. Works a dream as the guys across the pond say. Log attached if you're interested.

If you wanted to record from the remote machine, I assume you would use your recordings directory names, right?

Thanks.

Mike

mvallevand
2011-09-01, 01:00 AM
That did it!

Great.


Once I figured out that I had to restart the recording service to pick up changes to the Network Recorder xml file.

Good point I should mention that on the wiki.


Log attached if you're interested.

With the before or after you might have a mismatched trailing backslash on the "after" side. Also I note the file size is growing, so you aren't using the NPVR TS Writer, which doesn't flush the writes very often.



If you wanted to record from the remote machine, I assume you would use your recordings directory names, right

Yes, you'd have to change NPVR to use network names. For firewire it might be better because speed is so crucial.

Martin

mikeh49
2011-09-01, 01:43 AM
I wondered about the apparent excess trailing slashes. I'll look into that. Right now, there's no need to record, but you never know where this will lead. :) If you used network names in NPVR on the remote machine, then you wouldn't need the before-after tag?

mvallevand
2011-09-01, 02:23 AM
If you used network names in NPVR on the remote machine, then you wouldn't need the before-after tag?

Yes you can do that too, even if the network machine is local. All your QAM/ATSC/DCR recordings would have to be on a share though.

Martin

mikeh49
2011-09-01, 05:08 PM
You do not need the trailing slashes on the UNC identifier, should be as below:

<RecordingsReplace>D:\NPVR Buffer?\\MIKE\NPVR Buffer</RecordingsReplace>
<LiveReplace>D:\NPVR Buffer?\\MIKE\NPVR Buffer</LiveReplace>

NPVR (or Network Recorder) puts the slash in before the filename.