PDA

View Full Version : Search Lite and a Hauppauge 45 button remote...



Jeckler
2011-02-13, 10:57 PM
Why won't it work? Whatever navigation button I hit causes that text to show in the search field. For instance, I press rewind and the word REVERSE shows up. Any other way to search the guide besides from the keyboard. Wil it work with an MCE remote?

Current WAF: Yeah, right.

mvallevand
2011-02-13, 10:59 PM
Are you asking for help or just bitching?

Martin

Jeckler
2011-02-13, 11:20 PM
Help, please.

mvallevand
2011-02-13, 11:28 PM
Ok, thanks. I haven't used the Hauppauge remote on the PC so I am not sure if it does work but from an NMT remote the cell phone style remote works fine. I should say it works, cell typing is annoying and hard to remember so I would expect low WAF You have to use numbers to cycle through the letters.



1 = none (in some older telephones, QZ)
2 = ABC
3 = DEF
4 = GHI
5 = JKL
6 = MNO
7 = P(Q)RS
8 = TUV
9 = WXY(Z)


The rewind should erase and fast forward should allow the same text without waiting for a time out. I have no idea why the string for rewind is coming, someone who know remotes might be able to help me.

Martin

mvallevand
2011-02-14, 12:11 AM
In addition to those keys (which I quickly found on Wikipedia) 0 and 1 will cycle through other codes



0 = _ < > 0
1 = . ? ! , @ - : & ( ) 1


All keys cycle to their number.

The underscore on zero is treated as a space,

The search is not smart like google so it is best to keep searches relatively short but unique unless you are using the exact match find art or create a rule.

To improve WAF you might want to create some saved searches which you can run from a selection list. Also if you like searching movies, singles . characters allow searching for movie ratings ie .. (1 pause 1) gives you two star or better movies.

Martin

mvallevand
2011-02-14, 12:57 AM
Okay since the Hauppauge remote is not officially supported in NPVR you probably should look for user support. Your irremote.ini file sound wrong and you might want to look at how others have set up FF/RWD in threads like this one http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?46919-Hauppauge-Remote-control-not-working

Martin

Jeckler
2011-02-14, 02:38 AM
I'm using the additions listed in the wiki for the Hauppauge remote.
It's OK though, once again, NPVR has proven it's not for me. I'm old school... 2 analog tuners and a 27" CRT TV. I'll stick with what works, GBPVR/PVRX2.
Not only does Search Lite not work, but I was also getting a terrible analog recording on one tuner, and 0 length on the other, so I give up. Maybe once NPVR gets to v2, it'll either have better support for the older analog stuff, or none and I won't have to worry about it. :)

mvallevand
2011-02-14, 03:06 AM
So you were just bitching and I wish I hadn't wasted my time. SearchLite works as designed, but I am alway willing to work with some constructive criticisms and suggestions. Analog recordings also work fine.

For fun later this week I install a Hauppauge remote and see how it works.

Martin

Jeckler
2011-02-14, 03:28 AM
You seem to be getting pretty bent out of shape about it. Might want to see a Dr. before your anxiety level causes heart problems.
But yea, you might want to to try the Hauppauge remote directly from the HTPC and see what it does.

mvallevand
2011-02-14, 03:57 AM
No, I just hate drive-by criticism, saying something doesn't work without saying what it is. If you delete on the keyboard with Ctrl-D then the remote makes the difference not SearchLite.

Anyway I plugged an IR eye into my HVR 1600, ran ir.exe and I have a working remote in SearchLite. I didn't realize that the alphas are labeled to help you out. I used this ini http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?46919-Hauppauge-Remote-control-not-working&p=379315#post379315 because I didn't understand the wiki codes and I can definitely use the << key to erase text. The remote isn't that respive so I guess I could increase the time before it moves characters.

Sorry it doesn't work for you.

Martin

mvallevand
2011-02-14, 05:11 AM
Ok, after a bit more investigation there is a bug in SearchLite that it is using Ctrl-D which is the old GBPVR code for Rewind and not Ctrl-R It doesn't explain your problems but I have edited the SearchLite code and irremote.ini to use REWIND={ctrl}R and it seems fine now. Unfortunately I can't release this until the next version of NEWA is release.

Martin