PDA

View Full Version : TVDB Link w/X-Files



smajor
2011-01-29, 09:58 PM
I was looking though the guide and wanted to create a Link with TheTVDB and X-Files.

When I tried, TV Listings seems to have searched the entire guide for "Files" leading to 100's of matches.

Could it be getting confused on a show name with a hyphen (-) in it?

mvallevand
2011-01-29, 11:35 PM
When I was working on SearchLite, this was a real problem because of the the "The" that is used in some countries.

Martin

alibert
2011-01-30, 11:01 AM
Hi,

this is because the plugin skips single character words in the search. I'll add a setting to make this configurable in the next release.

-alibert

smajor
2011-02-01, 01:26 AM
Hi,

this is because the plugin skips single character words in the search. I'll add a setting to make this configurable in the next release.

-alibert

Well, okay - I'm not sure it needs a preference or even that it needs to be done at all in that way.

Wouldn't it be better to just have it treat hyphenated items as a "word"? This would produce better matches in TheTVDB for series like X-Files, A-Team, Stargate SG-1, K-Ville, and probably others.

I can hardly code at all, so I may not be aware of the implications of doing the above. :o

alibert
2011-02-01, 10:43 AM
Hi,

that makes sense. I'm going to change the behaviour so that words delimited by a '-' character no longer get truncated in the search.

-alibert