PDA

View Full Version : ExternalDisplay - NPVR Release



ralphy
2011-01-26, 08:02 AM
I must admit that I was a little surprised that until recently, there have been no requests for this plugin to be updated for NPVR. I figured that this meant either folks no longer use the plugin, or have delayed migrating to NPVR for other reasons.

Prior to my finding out about the Soundgraph API, I had updated ExternalDisplay for NPVR. Here is the installer file. I have not yet implemented the Soundgraph API. kindt-nick has a plugin here (http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?48899-iMONDisplayPlugin-Release) that uses the Soundgraph API.

This plugin might be useful for users of other displays that are not supported by kindt-nick's plugin.

To install this plugin:


download the new version below
if you already have this plugin with GBPVR, make a backup of the xml configuration file in the GBPVR\plugins\ExternalDisplay folder if you have customised your message, and backup your LCDHype drivers.
uninstall the old ExternalDisplay via the uninstaller
install the new version. It will install into the NPVR program and data folders as defined in the registry.
copy your backup xml file and LCDHype Driver to the NPVR\plugins\ExternalDisplay folder.
run the ExternalDisplay configuration
start NPVR

I have ExternalDisplay working with iMon version 7.91.x. I found that I needed to copy SG_VFD.dll (version 5.1) from the older iMon software into the c:\program files\Soundgraph folder.

There are no real new features in this release other than the display of the current playback position, and the ability to extract .WMA metadata.

Enjoy :)

As usual, if there are problems, please post logs with debug and ExternalDisplay extensive logging enabled.

Phoenix_TT
2011-02-01, 02:06 PM
Hi Ralphy

I've updated to NPVR and installed the new ExternalDisplay, however I can't get the plugin to work.

I don't get the option in NPVR plugin settings and I don't have the configuration program.

What have I done wrong?

McBainUK
2011-02-01, 02:43 PM
Zip and attach your NPVR.log file from the NextPVR data directory (http://www.gbpvr.com/nwiki/pmwiki.php?n=QuickStart.InstalledParts#directories ) logs sub folder so we've got something to go on.

ralphy
2011-02-01, 09:57 PM
I don't get the option in NPVR plugin settings and I don't have the configuration program.

What have I done wrong?

The configuration is not accessed through NPVR. You need to run ExternalDisplayConfig.exe from the \Program Files\NPVR.

When you run the installer, the option to run the configuration upon exiting is given (and checked to run by default)

Phoenix_TT
2011-02-03, 12:06 PM
Thanks Ralpy.

I didn't have the externaldisplayconfig.exe in \Program Files\NPVR, so I re-ran the installer. Anyhow this exe file now appeared and I was able to configure it.

I now have ExternalDisplay plugin working well with NPVR and I like the new feature of having the current playback position

Thanks again

ralphy
2011-02-03, 10:25 PM
Odd that the config.exe was not installed the first time around. Glad to hear that this is now working for you - feedback (good or bad) is always welcome. :). Out of interest, what display type are you using, Phoenix_TT?

Phoenix_TT
2011-02-07, 09:22 AM
I have the VFD in the original Antec Fusion case (without remote control support)

I have noticed something when using ExternalDisplay with GBPVR and now NPVR. Sometimes it doesn't display the correct TV programme title, even when the EPG is uptodate. Any ideas?

ralphy
2011-02-07, 09:35 AM
I have the VFD in the original Antec Fusion case (without remote control support)

I have noticed something when using ExternalDisplay with GBPVR and now NPVR. Sometimes it doesn't display the correct TV programme title, even when the EPG is uptodate. Any ideas?

Nothing jumps out since the same data base is being used. I assume the problem is in LiveTV and not recordings. Is the title of the prior show (ie a timing issue)? Does the correct title eventually get displayed? If you change channel and come back does the title get corrected? Is the correct channel number displayed?

All I can suggest is to post logs, and post the database and advise the time of the problem, and what the correct information should be. I might be able to see something, but can't guarantee it.

Phoenix_TT
2011-02-07, 11:00 AM
It's a problem with Live TV. Recording titles work fine.

The 1st time I noticed with the NPVR version was on Sat evening ... I was watching Batman on ITV2 +1, however the title was displaying The Mummy (the programme title before), so maybe this is a clue? I'm sure the correct channel name and number get displayed though.

I will try and get some logs when it happens again and also try what you have suggested.

ralphy
2011-02-07, 11:35 PM
External display expects to find a finish time of the program in the database. If there is no finish time, then there is a timer that checks the current program details at 30 second intervals, so it is possible that when the program changes, for a period of time, the old details will still be displayed, until the timer fires off and gets the new program details based on the current time. The reason I took this approach was to cut down on the number calls to get data from the database.

I'm now guessing that perhaps the EPG database has a finish time that is later than the start time of the next program, in which case, ExternalDisplay does not bother to check for the change in channel at 30 second intervals - and since the finish time is after the start time, the old details continue to be displayed. Just a theory! I may be way off here.

Perhaps you can also send you EPG .xml data when you notice the problem again.

Phoenix_TT
2011-02-09, 09:00 AM
Hi Raply

When GBPVR/NPVR is not running, the new version of ExternalDisplay displays the message GBPVR not active. Is there anyway that ExternalDisplay can run the Imon display utility, so I get the date and time displayed instead?

ralphy
2011-02-09, 09:26 AM
Hi Raply

When GBPVR/NPVR is not running, the new version of ExternalDisplay displays the message GBPVR not active. Is there anyway that ExternalDisplay can run the Imon display utility, so I get the date and time displayed instead?

In the advance settings, there is an option to Restart Frontview on exit.

On my system, when I exit NPVR, iMon regains control of the display and display's it's messages. iMon is loaded during my startup.

Phoenix_TT
2011-02-10, 08:29 AM
I must have missed that option!

I've now set and it appears to work. I now have the VFD displaying date and time when not in NPVR and also working when in NPVR. Brilliant.

Thanks