PDA

View Full Version : Random hanging for a minute navigating Recordings screens



petercooperjr
2010-07-23, 12:13 AM
Here's my next hurdle trying to switch to N-PVR. When going to or navigating within the Recordings menus, sometimes the whole application seems to hang for quite a while (like a full minute or two). It then seems to keep on going (dealing with any keystrokes or remote presses I've hit in the meantime while it was hanging) as through nothing had happened. I've been trying to find a pattern to when it happens, and I haven't found one yet, although it seems to happen rather often.

While it's hanging, the application and my computer don't seem to show any spike in CPU usage or anything like that. It just seems to… sit there… waiting… before catching up to where it should be and working just fine for a little bit until the next hang.

I'm guessing I must be the only one having this problem since I haven't seen it posted anywhere here, but I'm not sure what it is about my setup that would be odd. I'm running Windows XP with a HVR-1600 and a HDHomeRun. I did import my recordings from GB-PVR into N-PVR, so my wild guess is that there's something odd in there that it keeps on needing to search for or something. The only thing I may have that others might not is a good amount of Manual Recordings from the local government public access channel (since the EPG data doesn't really have anything for that channel), and they seemed to import into N-PVR as a new show for each recording, even though in GB-PVR they each had the same name and showed up grouped together.

Also, when I go to play back a show that was recorded in GB-PVR, the screen that pops up always says the channel is channel 2 (my first channel), no matter what channel it actually was, and although the main recording screen lists what the correct channel was. I don't know if that's related to anything or just a display issue.

Any guesses? Anyone else with this problem? Anything in particular I should be looking for in the logs?

Thank you.

sub
2010-07-23, 12:20 AM
Do you have any recordings on network drives? Approximately how many recordings do you have?

If you temporarily set both <AutoRemoveMissingRecordings> and <CheckForRenamedRecordings> to 'false', does that screen speed up?

When it loads the recording list it checks that the recording is still on disk. If this is on a network drive then this can be slow.

petercooperjr
2010-07-23, 01:39 PM
I'm guessing it's around 150 recordings (I'm not home at the moment to check.) There's not any on network drives, but some are on an external USB-connected hard drive. This weekend I should get a chance to try changing those settings and see what happens. Thank you very much.

johnsonx42
2010-07-23, 04:55 PM
are you sure you're not just waiting for your drives to spin up? windows tends to power those down when idle.

petercooperjr
2010-07-23, 09:03 PM
are you sure you're not just waiting for your drives to spin up? windows tends to power those down when idle.

Well, it keeps on happening as I navigate through the recordings menus. It's not just once when first going into it, although it often happens then too.

sub
2010-07-23, 09:12 PM
If its still happening after the next beta is out, let me know and I'll add some additional logging to work out what exactly its doing during this delay. I'm sure it'll be checking the recordings files are still on disk. 150 files would normally be subsecond though, so something else must be factor.

petercooperjr
2010-07-24, 04:12 AM
Setting <AutoRemoveMissingRecordings> and <CheckForRenamedRecordings> to false seems to have done the trick. Everything's very fast now. And I'm fine with them set to false, so I guess I've got a solution.

Thank you so much for your help.