PDA

View Full Version : U6012A QAM Tuner in Windows 7 - Device as DVB-C instead of QAM



ak1i
2010-06-19, 08:04 AM
Hello,

Just started trying NPVR using Mygica U6012A USB TV Tuner on Windows 7 and XP for QAM channels.

In Windows 7:
The QAM device is seen as 'Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner', but the type is listed as 'DVB-C' instead of QAM. I selected 256 QAM and tried to scan. It did not find any QAM channels (quite obvious I suppose...).

In Windows XP:
NPVR only found the ATSC 'HDTV Stick Digital Tuner' but not the QAM Tuner. I do have the HVR-1600 QAM tuner also on this PC and NPVR was able to find the HVR-1600 QAM tuner as QAM device.

Thanks.

sub
2010-06-19, 06:07 PM
What is this device capable of? Analog+ATSC+QAM like most north american devices?

View the Devices screen, then post the npvr.log and I'll take a look.

ak1i
2010-06-20, 07:31 AM
Hi Sub,

Yes it is a US-based USB TV Tuner device (Analog+ATSC+QAM).

I went to the 'Devices' screen and I was able to see the tuner appearing as 1 ATSC device and 1 DVB-C device (instead of QAM device). I was not able to locate any npvr.log file in the install directory. Is there some setting I need to enable for logging?

Here are 2 sets of entries in gbpvr bda.ini for XP and Windows 7 that work:


Windows XP:
---------------

[Mygica U6012 HDTV Stick]
TUNING_TYPE=ATSC
FILTER_TUNER=HDTV Stick Digital Tuner
FILTER_CAPTURE=HDTV Stick Digital Capture
PIN_TUNER_IN=Input0
PIN_TUNER_OUT=MPEG2 Transport
PIN_CAPTURE_IN=MPEG2 Transport
PIN_CAPTURE_OUT=MPEG2 Transport

[Mygica U6012 HDTV Stick (QAM)]
TUNING_TYPE=ATSC
TUNING_SPECIAL=2
FILTER_TUNER=HDTV Stick Digital Tuner
FILTER_CAPTURE=HDTV Stick Digital Capture
PIN_TUNER_IN=Input0
PIN_TUNER_OUT=MPEG2 Transport
PIN_CAPTURE_IN=MPEG2 Transport
PIN_CAPTURE_OUT=MPEG2 Transport


Windows 7
-------------

[Mygica U6012 HDTV Stick]
TUNING_TYPE=ATSC
FILTER_TUNER=Microtune Dongle Digital Tuner
FILTER_CAPTURE=Microtune Dongle Digital Capture
PIN_TUNER_IN=Input0
PIN_TUNER_OUT=MPEG2 Transport
PIN_CAPTURE_IN=MPEG2 Transport
PIN_CAPTURE_OUT=MPEG2 Transport


[Mygica U6012 HDTV Stick (QAM)]
TUNING_TYPE=ATSC
TUNING_SPECIAL=2
FILTER_TUNER=Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner
FILTER_CAPTURE=Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Capture
PIN_TUNER_IN=Input0
PIN_TUNER_OUT=MPEG2 Transport
PIN_CAPTURE_IN=MPEG2 Transport
PIN_CAPTURE_OUT=MPEG2 Transport


Let me know if this helps.

ak1i
2010-06-20, 07:54 AM
Ok, I am able to locate the npvr.log. Here is the info:

2010-06-20 00:24:24.803 [DEBUG][1] About to detect digital tuners
2010-06-20 00:24:24.803 [DEBUG][1] - 'Microtune Dongle Digital Tuner'
2010-06-20 00:24:24.803 [DEBUG][1] - 'Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner'
2010-06-20 00:24:24.834 [DEBUG][1] About to check standards supported by 'Microtune Dongle Digital Tuner'
2010-06-20 00:24:24.834 [DEBUG][1] Found IBDA_Topology
2010-06-20 00:24:24.834 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_RF_TUNER
2010-06-20 00:24:24.834 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_8VSB_DEMODULATOR
2010-06-20 00:24:24.834 [DEBUG][1] Done
2010-06-20 00:24:24.849 [DEBUG][1] About to check standards supported by 'Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner'
2010-06-20 00:24:24.849 [DEBUG][1] Found IBDA_Topology
2010-06-20 00:24:24.849 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_RF_TUNER
2010-06-20 00:24:24.849 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_QAM_DEMODULATOR
2010-06-20 00:24:24.849 [DEBUG][1] Done


DirectX 9
Also, I have a problem trying to install DirectX version 9 in Windows 7. I believe Windows 7 has DirectX version 11. Is that OK? Or I have to install DirectX version 9 for npvr to work? As I am seeing this log:

2010-06-20 00:24:01.434 [ERROR][1] Error initialising Direct3D: SlimDX.Direct3D9.Direct3DX9NotFoundException: Direct3DX 9 was not found. Please install the latest DirectX end-user redistributable package from Microsoft. ---> System.Runtime.InteropServices.SEHException: External component has thrown an exception.
at D3DXCheckVersion(UInt32 , UInt32 )
at SlimDX.Direct3D9.Direct3D..ctor()
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at SlimDX.Direct3D9.Direct3D..ctor()
at NextPVR.Utility.Direct3DHelper..ctor(IntPtr windowHandle, Int32 width, Int32 height)
at NextPVR.ControllerForm.Form1_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
2010-06-20 00:24:01.434 [INFO][1] Continuing with Direct3D disabled

Thanks.

ak1i
2010-06-20, 08:03 AM
I have attached a screen shot and the npvr.log. Let me know if I can perhaps add additional entries in Digital Devices.xml to make it work w/ this device--thanks.

sub
2010-06-20, 04:45 PM
I've made a change for the next release that should fix this QAM detection. I cant release it as a patch, but there will be another release in a day or so that'll include this functionality.

ak1i
2010-06-21, 05:11 AM
Thx Sub. I can't wait to download the new release.

By the way, two other questions:

1. EPG
I wonder how to set the EPG data location for XMLTV for *all* channels. In gbpvr I can set the EPG source location for XMLTV but I cannot seem to be able to find a way to enter the directory for the XMLTV xml file in npvr. I've found out I can select a channel, and then provide the XMLTV xml file. But this is for one channel only. I don't think I'd want to enter that same directory for every single channel.

Or did I miss some steps?



2. Audio codec - default is 'Disabled'
After install, I noticed that the default values for all the audio decoder selections were 'disabled.' So initially there was no audio and I had to go back to set up to manually select an audio decoder.

Can there be a 'System default' for the audio decoder selections so no one would be misled in thinking something is not working when hearing no audio in Live TV the first time?

Thanks.

ak1i
2010-06-25, 08:17 AM
Hi Sub,

I wonder if the new version 1.5.21 supports U6012A yet. I tried installing the new version but in Windows XP the QAM/Analog device do not show up at all. It only shows the 'ATSC HDTV Stick Digital Tuner' device (note I have both the U6012A and the HVR-1600 on this PC). I haven't tried Windows 7 yet.

sub
2010-06-25, 04:18 PM
I had hoped this version would work with the filters mentioned in your logs above. Its possible the XP filter names are not the same as the Win7 ones above though.

Either way, visit the Devices screen, then post the npvr.log and I'll take a look.

ak1i
2010-06-25, 04:36 PM
Sub,

Yes the filter name for this device in XP is different than the name in WIndows 7.

Here is the log info you're looking for (Windows XP):


2010-06-25 09:23:58.281 [DEBUG][1] About to detect digital tuners
2010-06-25 09:23:58.296 [DEBUG][1] - 'Hauppauge WinTV 418 BDA Tuner'
2010-06-25 09:23:58.296 [DEBUG][1] - 'HDTV Stick Digital Tuner'

2010-06-25 09:23:58.656 [DEBUG][1] About to check standards supported by 'Hauppauge WinTV 418 BDA Tuner'
2010-06-25 09:23:58.656 [DEBUG][1] Found IBDA_Topology
2010-06-25 09:23:58.656 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_RF_TUNER
2010-06-25 09:23:58.656 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_8VSB_DEMODULATOR
2010-06-25 09:23:58.656 [DEBUG][1] Done

2010-06-25 09:23:58.687 [DEBUG][1] About to check standards supported by 'HDTV Stick Digital Tuner' <---- U6012A Tuner
2010-06-25 09:23:58.687 [DEBUG][1] Found IBDA_Topology
2010-06-25 09:23:58.687 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_RF_TUNER
2010-06-25 09:23:58.687 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_8VSB_DEMODULATOR

sub
2010-06-25, 05:07 PM
Give this patch a go.

ak1i
2010-06-26, 08:32 AM
Sub,

This is great! Now the 'HDTV Stick Digital Tuner' QAM device shows up in Windows XP. The only thing missing in Windowx XP now is the Analog device.

If you can fix that it'd be complete (haven't checked yet if the Analog device for the 'Microtune Dongle Digital Tuner' shows up in Windows 7 or not).

ak1i
2010-06-26, 04:14 PM
Hi Sub,

Besides the missing Analog device in Windows XP, I tried WIndows 7 and it still showed the QAM device as DVB-C Device :(.

The Analog device is not showing in Windows 7 also.

Here is the NPVR.log that'd help you I think (Windows 7):


2010-06-26 08:55:26.511 [DEBUG][1] About to detect digital tuners
2010-06-26 08:55:26.521 [DEBUG][1] - 'Microtune Dongle Digital Tuner'
2010-06-26 08:55:26.522 [DEBUG][1] - 'Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner'

2010-06-26 08:55:26.675 [DEBUG][1] About to check standards supported by 'Microtune Dongle Digital Tuner'
2010-06-26 08:55:26.675 [DEBUG][1] Found IBDA_Topology
2010-06-26 08:55:26.675 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_RF_TUNER
2010-06-26 08:55:26.675 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_8VSB_DEMODULATOR
2010-06-26 08:55:26.675 [DEBUG][1] Done

2010-06-26 08:55:26.684 [DEBUG][1] About to check standards supported by 'Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner'
2010-06-26 08:55:26.684 [DEBUG][1] Found IBDA_Topology
2010-06-26 08:55:26.684 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_RF_TUNER
2010-06-26 08:55:26.684 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_QAM_DEMODULATOR
2010-06-26 08:55:26.684 [DEBUG][1] Done

Current Windows 7 behavior:
- QAM device : shows as DVB-C device
- Analog device : missing

Current Windows XP behavior:
- Analog device : missing

Thx.

sub
2010-06-26, 05:41 PM
You'd need to find a way to get the Hauppauge SoftPVR software on your machine if you wanted to use analog on that device.

ak1i
2010-06-29, 05:16 AM
Thx for the info.

Can you provide a patch so at least I can get the QAM device working in Windows 7. It is still appearing as DVB-C device... .

sub
2010-06-29, 05:20 AM
Can you provide a patch so at least I can get the QAM device working in Windows 7. It is still appearing as DVB-C device... .Bump the thread in a couple of days to remind me if I havnt posted a patch by then. Busy with day job stuff today.

qam1600
2011-06-27, 01:56 PM
So the Mygica U6012 worked in XP but not in Windows 7? I'm looking for a cheap capture device and Meritline has this at a fairly low price. Thanks!

ak1i
2011-08-01, 06:15 PM
Hi sub,


Thought would want to see if this device can work in Windows 7 now w/ 2.1.5 and latest patch. Right now it can see the U6012A QAM device in Windows 7, but npvr cannot find any unencrypted QAM channel (fyi--this is US QAM) during a scan.

I tried HVR-1600 and it worked fine and was able to find unecrypted QAM channels. I tried going back to device setup for the U6012A and had the config from HVR-1600 copied over. Then when I went to one of the QAM channels npvr complained 'failed to start device.' Same complaint sometimes when I tried to do a manual scan of the U6012A QAM device (Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner).



Here's the log for U6012A:

2011-08-01 11:01:24.493 [DEBUG][1] About to check standards supported by 'Hauppauge WinTV 418 BDA Tuner'
2011-08-01 11:01:24.493 [DEBUG][1] Found IBDA_Topology
2011-08-01 11:01:24.494 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_RF_TUNER
2011-08-01 11:01:24.494 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_8VSB_DEMODULATOR
2011-08-01 11:01:24.494 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_QAM_DEMODULATOR
2011-08-01 11:01:24.494 [DEBUG][1] Done

<-- * U6012A * -->
2011-08-01 11:01:24.503 [DEBUG][1] About to check standards supported by 'Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner'
2011-08-01 11:01:24.503 [DEBUG][1] Found IBDA_Topology
2011-08-01 11:01:24.503 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_RF_TUNER
2011-08-01 11:01:24.503 [DEBUG][1] - KSNODE_BDA_QAM_DEMODULATOR
2011-08-01 11:01:24.504 [DEBUG][1] Done

...

2011-08-01 11:01:30.355 [DEBUG][1] Failed to start device: 0x8007001f


<-- Scanning U6012A QAM device -->

2011-08-01 11:39:01.826 [DEBUG][1] About GetTuningString() : 1
2011-08-01 11:39:01.826 [DEBUG][1] transponderInfo: 70,0,0
2011-08-01 11:39:01.835 [INFO][1] DigitalRecorder.StartStream(c:\nowhere\scan.ts)
2011-08-01 11:39:01.835 [INFO][1] Creating BDA graph
2011-08-01 11:39:01.878 [DEBUG][1] Using tuner Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Tuner (1)
2011-08-01 11:39:01.919 [DEBUG][1] About to auto detect capture filter
2011-08-01 11:39:01.932 [DEBUG][1] Got capture filter: 'Microtune Dongle Digital QAM Capture'
2011-08-01 11:39:01.933 [DEBUG][1] Added capture filter
2011-08-01 11:39:01.938 [DEBUG][1] Connected Tuner to Capture
2011-08-01 11:39:02.086 [DEBUG][1] Graph filter list:
2011-08-01 11:39:02.087 [DEBUG][1] - MPEG-2 Sections and Tables
2011-08-01 11:39:02.087 [DEBUG][1] - BDA MPEG2 Transport Information Filter
2011-08-01 11:39:02.087 [DEBUG][1] - MPEG-2 Demultiplexer
2011-08-01 11:39:02.087 [DEBUG][1] - NPVR TS Mon
2011-08-01 11:39:02.087 [DEBUG][1] - Capture
2011-08-01 11:39:02.087 [DEBUG][1] - Tuner
2011-08-01 11:39:02.087 [DEBUG][1] - Network Provider
2011-08-01 11:39:02.087 [INFO][1] About to start BDA graph
2011-08-01 11:39:02.088 [DEBUG][1] Starting graph...
2011-08-01 11:39:04.278 [DEBUG][1] About to tune BDA graph:
<tuning>
<type>QAM</type>
<locator>
<physical_channel>70</physical_channel>
</locator>
</tuning>

2011-08-01 11:39:04.289 [INFO][1] Setting locator to BDA_MOD_256QAM

2011-08-01 11:39:04.289 [INFO][1] Tuning to frequency 70
2011-08-01 11:39:04.311 [DEBUG][1] About to try setting tuner modulation
2011-08-01 11:39:04.311 [DEBUG][1] Got tuner output pin
2011-08-01 11:39:04.311 [DEBUG][1] Got IKsPropertySet interface
2011-08-01 11:39:04.311 [DEBUG][1] KSPROPSETID_BdaDigitalDemodulator is supported...
2011-08-01 11:39:04.311 [DEBUG][1] Modulation set
2011-08-01 11:39:04.312 [DEBUG][1] Resetting metadata
2011-08-01 11:39:04.313 [DEBUG][1] About to submit tuning request
2011-08-01 11:39:04.314 [DEBUG][1] Unexpected error on ATSC put_TunerRequest: 0x80070057
2011-08-01 11:39:04.314 [DEBUG][1] Resetting metadata
2011-08-01 11:39:04.321 [DEBUG][1] Calling LockChannel()
2011-08-01 11:39:04.338 [DEBUG][1] locked=0, present=1, strength=-27, quality=0 (took 31ms to check)
2011-08-01 11:39:04.341 [INFO][1] DigitalRecorder.StartStream() allocated handle: 0x1
2011-08-01 11:39:09.361 [DEBUG][1] About GetTuningString() : 2
2011-08-01 11:39:09.361 [DEBUG][1] transponderInfo: 71,0,0
2011-08-01 11:39:09.361 [INFO][1] DigitalRecorder.StartStream(c:\nowhere\null.ts)
2011-08-01 11:39:09.362 [DEBUG][1] Switching BDA graph to tune:
<tuning>
<type>QAM</type>
<locator>
<physical_channel>71</physical_channel>
</locator>
</tuning>


------------


2. Also, it looks like the U6012A Analog Video Capture device isn't in the AnalogDevice.xml so it's not recognized now. Would you be able to add that support in the next patch? I do see 'ArcSoft Mpeg Encoder Filter' and 'ArcSoft Realtime Capture Encoder Filter'.

Should I manually add an entry using the 'ArcSoft Realtime Capture Encoder' filter and set filter type as SOFT_ENCODE and would that work?


Here's the log:

011-08-01 10:39:27.626 [DEBUG][1] About to check for analog tuners
2011-08-01 10:39:27.786 [DEBUG][1] FindFilterByName failed to locate filter: MainConcept (HCW) MPEG-2 Video Encoder
2011-08-01 10:39:27.814 [DEBUG][1] FindFilterByName failed to locate filter: MainConcept (HCW) Layer II Audio Encoder
2011-08-01 10:39:27.814 [DEBUG][1] MainConcept encoders not present. Disabling soft encode analog support.
2011-08-01 10:39:27.828 [DEBUG][1] skipping 'MuxedIn' (not in AnalogDevices.xml)
2011-08-01 10:39:27.830 [DEBUG][1] skipping 'SB Audigy 2 Audio [BCC0]' (not in AnalogDevices.xml)
2011-08-01 10:39:27.831 [DEBUG][1] - 'Hauppauge WinTV 418 Video Capture'


2011-08-01 11:01:24.518 [DEBUG][1] About to check for analog tuners
2011-08-01 11:01:24.570 [DEBUG][1] FindFilterByName failed to locate filter: MainConcept (HCW) MPEG-2 Video Encoder
2011-08-01 11:01:24.600 [DEBUG][1] FindFilterByName failed to locate filter: MainConcept (HCW) Layer II Audio Encoder
2011-08-01 11:01:24.600 [DEBUG][1] MainConcept encoders not present. Disabling soft encode analog support.
2011-08-01 11:01:24.613 [DEBUG][1] skipping 'MuxedIn' (not in AnalogDevices.xml)
2011-08-01 11:01:24.616 [DEBUG][1] skipping 'SB Audigy 2 Audio [BCC0]' (not in AnalogDevices.xml)
2011-08-01 11:01:24.617 [DEBUG][1] - 'Hauppauge WinTV 418 Video Capture'


<-- * U6012A capture device * -->
2011-08-01 11:01:24.618 [DEBUG][1] skipping 'Microtune Dongle Analog Capture' (not in AnalogDevices.xml)


------------

3. Also, after I removed the U6012A USB dongle physically, I was not able to tune to any channels on the HVR-1600. npvr complained that it was 'unable to locate the tuner filter (Microtune Dongle Digital QAM)'... . I disabled the Microtune ATSC and QAM devices in the device list and the error still occurred.



Thanks... .

sub
2011-08-01, 06:20 PM
2. Also, it looks like the U6012A Analog Video Capture device isn't in the AnalogDevice.xml so it's not recognized now. Would you be able to add that support in the next patch? Should I manually add an entry myself for now?
If you run filtercheck.exe and post the filtercheck.log, then I'll tell you what to add in AnalogDevices.xml. If you then config it works, I'll add it to the master AnalogDevices.xml file.


2011-08-01 11:01:24.570 [DEBUG][1] FindFilterByName failed to locate filter: MainConcept (HCW) MPEG-2 Video Encoder
2011-08-01 11:01:24.600 [DEBUG][1] FindFilterByName failed to locate filter: MainConcept (HCW) Layer II Audio Encoder
You'd need to get those on your machine before this device will be usable for analog.

ak1i
2011-08-01, 10:01 PM
Hi sub,

I've just uploaded the filtercheck.log (renamed w/ .txt extension).

Pls feel free to provide any tip to get the QAM tuner working if you get a chance. I compared the log with HVR-1600 and it seems npvr didn't recognize U6012A QAM tuner as being a KSNODE_BDA_8VSB_DEMODULATOR (missing that entry in the log for the device) -- not sure if that was the cause for the scan failure.

Thx... .

sub
2011-08-01, 10:24 PM
Hi sub,

I've just uploaded the filtercheck.log (renamed w/ .txt extension). You'll probably need the following in AnalogDevices.xml:



<Device filter="Microtune Dongle Analog Capture">
<Name>Microtune Dongle Analog Capture</Name>
<Type>SOFT_ENCODE</Type>
</Device>

You'll also need those soft encoder filters I mentioned earlier.


Pls feel free to provide any tip to get the QAM tuner working if you get a chance. I compared the log with HVR-1600 and it seems npvr didn't recognize U6012A QAM tuner as being a KSNODE_BDA_8VSB_DEMODULATOR (missing that entry in the log for the device) -- not sure if that was the cause for the scan failure.Can you post a screenshot of your Settings -> Devices screen?

ak1i
2011-08-01, 10:49 PM
Hi Sub,

I've attached a screen shot for the Devices list.


I do see this same error when doing the scan for every channel. Not sure if this helps:

2011-08-01 15:34:38.880 [DEBUG][1] Unexpected error on ATSC put_TunerRequest: 0x80070057

sub
2011-08-01, 10:54 PM
It's already listed, so nothing to be changed on the detection front (KSNODE_BDA_8VSB_DEMODULATOR etc).

Unfortunately I'm not really sure what to suggest. Its already being treated exactly the same as all the other QAM capable devices that work. I'm not sure what I could do differently. There must be something quirky about this device or its drivers that wants things to be done differently, but in what way?

ak1i
2011-08-04, 09:08 PM
WMC 7 is able to start the device and scan channels ok. So is TotalMedia 3.5. Are these two apps starting the U6012A QAM tuner and/or scanning channels differently? Or, perhaps in Windows 7 operations are somewhat different?

sub
2011-08-04, 10:10 PM
To be honest, I dont know. Its next to impossible to know what these other apps are doing behind the scenes. I'm already doing what Microsoft recommend in their documentation.