PDA

View Full Version : admin rights when using Manual Record?



8ace
2009-01-15, 01:25 AM
I figured out that I can only record with GBPVR if I am the administrator (XPSP2)
I can confirm that (as a regular user) it just ignores it if I go
recordings / manual record / record (Capture stus: sleeping - nothing in Pending)

Thought i was going crazy.... signed in as admin and voila - if I repeat the same i am in business.....

As I dont really want to run this as admin, what should I change (rights-wise) to fix this?

thanks!!

sub
2009-01-15, 02:27 AM
Reproduce the problem, then zip and attach the logs and I'll take a look.

8ace
2009-01-16, 03:16 AM
hey sub - ok here are the logs.

thisis what I did:

manual record | record

nothing happened. "No Pending Recordings Scheduled"

I am not even sure the log was written to?

cheers!

sub
2009-01-16, 03:22 AM
2009-01-15 21:11:46.312 ERROR [1] Unabled to save ScheduledRecording: Unable to open the database file
unable to open database file
It looks like its unable to open the database file. I've never seen any other reports of this, so it sounds like you've had something funny happen with permissions. Maybe try resetting the permissions on gbpvr.db3 to allow all users full access.

8ace
2009-01-16, 04:29 PM
It looks like its unable to open the database file. I've never seen any other reports of this, so it sounds like you've had something funny happen with permissions. Maybe try resetting the permissions on gbpvr.db3 to allow all users full access.

ok so the correct approach SHOULD have been for me to (temporarily) add admin priviliges to the regular user account, install GBPVR then remove admin rights afterwards?

I actually installed this when logged in as admin
I noticed that the shortcuts for the app and the tray were not visible for the regular user so I recreated them manually ... hence the problem..?:D

sub
2009-01-16, 04:35 PM
ok so the correct approach SHOULD have been for me to (temporarily) add admin priviliges to the regular user account, install GBPVR then remove admin rights afterwards?I dont know. I dont test it this way, but it looks like to resolve it you'd need to give all users access to gbpvr.db3.

8ace
2009-01-16, 04:59 PM
thanks sub ... i'll give it a shot tonight!

richardw456
2009-01-16, 11:08 PM
Funny thing, I just tried the same thing. I downloaded the Windows 7 beta, set up a admin account, and a user account. I installed Firefox and FFdshow as admin, and they showed fine in the user account. When I installed GBPVR as admin, it ran fine, but there was no sign of it in the user account. Sure would love to get it working in the user account.

8ace
2009-01-17, 03:12 AM
It looks like its unable to open the database file. I've never seen any other reports of this, so it sounds like you've had something funny happen with permissions. Maybe try resetting the permissions on gbpvr.db3 to allow all users full access.

yes sub - that did the trick - set EVERYONE to have every permission for gbpvr.db3

thanks :cool: