PDA

View Full Version : Wireless setup help needed



sidneysides
2005-02-16, 12:56 PM
Hi - a complete noob here
I've got the MVp working successfully with a direct connection to my laptop.
My question is - I have a wireless card for my laptop and a belkin wireless access point. Is it possible to connect with this setup?
I tried yesterday (albeit with the hauppauge software) but it just stuck when connecting to servers. I am hoping to get a router for my home PC tomorrow, but that still leaves me with the problem of connecting something wirelessly to the MVP if the access point is not the correct thing to use.

Any guidence would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Stuart

Dubya
2005-02-16, 02:49 PM
For starters... you need to make sure everything is on the same subnet or else no worky... I had that problem at first... Your also going to have to bridge your access point and router when you get it..

sidneysides
2005-02-16, 05:41 PM
So it is possible to use the access point at the MVP end then? Didn't want to shell out much more cash!

Ericwiz
2005-02-16, 07:56 PM
Yes, you can use an access point on the MVP side. You'll need to run the AP in Client mode and you'll either need a crossover cable directly fromMVP to AP (I haven't tried this) or a hub between the two (This is how I do it)

sidneysides
2005-02-16, 08:26 PM
I have a Belkin AP (not sure of model but its a b not a g) - how do i run this in 'client mode'?

Ericwiz
2005-02-16, 10:23 PM
You would have to refer to ?Belkin for that. I use linksys hardware.