PDA

View Full Version : DVD2MPG saving space test - results inside

Networker
2005-02-07, 07:18 PM
Greetings. Still a new wet behind the ears user, < 1 week.

Love GBPVR and of course as a usual newbie I have posted a few stupud emails, if only I'd check the forums more... In any case, I can say there is nothing but kindness and help in this forum, I ca't say that for other forums I've been on.

I know, I know.. on with it...

Well my requirements for the PVR skyrocketed exponentially, especially once I found GBPVR and the MVP product. And even though I'm a stickler (sp??) for HDD space is cheap.. I still wanted to get the best video quality bang for my HDD space.. All my stuff needs to stay MPEG so I can use hardware decoding on the MVP and probably once I get a PVR350, if that is what goes in my new box (see some other post on TV quality http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif )..

So taking a DVD I performed several tests and visual quality tests. And here, finally, are the results....

DVD: Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets widescreen

RAW movie: 7368 MB
DVD2MPG: 6050 MB (picture great!)
DVDShrink ISO (complete backup-movie size): 3750 MB (good)
DVDShrink ISO->DVD2MPG: 3910 MB (not so good)
DVDShrink ISO (re-author movie only): 4463 MB (no test yet)
DVDShrink ISO->DVD2MPG: 3910 MB (no test yet)

I kicked off the re-author -> dvd2mpg when I left for work this morning.. I'll check it at home tonight and update this topic, however I wanted to get it started while I was at work.

Also, I started to create a chart to compare the quality settings from the Hauppauge book/settings and GBPVR.. I'll share that later soon as I either get an image up or HTML some code..

John

jorm
2005-02-08, 12:10 AM
If you get really bored and want to run more tests. You can try converting a movie mpeg to divx using audiogk or dnko and then use the new xrecord and try to decode the divx file. Might be a nice way to get more movies backed up at one time.