PDA

View Full Version : MovieWiz automatic update entries?



jam_zhou
2008-07-15, 06:32 PM
I'm testing out MovieWiz and would like to know if MovieWiz automatically updates entries. For example, if I rip a DVD will MovieWiz automatically update the database? I've done a quick search and can't seem to see this functionality as it's a database centered plugin.

If it's not then can we have an update or search new entries button in the UI?

I do like what I see though.

Thanks,
Jam.z

JavaWiz
2008-07-15, 11:34 PM
I'm testing out MovieWiz and would like to know if MovieWiz automatically updates entries. For example, if I rip a DVD will MovieWiz automatically update the database? I've done a quick search and can't seem to see this functionality as it's a database centered plugin.

If it's not then can we have an update or search new entries button in the UI?

I do like what I see though.

Thanks,
Jam.z
There is no automatic update, but you can:

Update via the MovieWiz Manager (ie from the start menu or gbpvr config->plugins).
Within the plugin, you can press CTRL-R (or Red button on remote) to import any new recordings.
So, if you rip a DVD, you'll manually have to run the MovieWiz Manager, Locate new content, then load.

jam_zhou
2008-07-16, 02:08 AM
Any chance of having this option in the PVRX2 interface? Nothing fancy, just a refresh button that scans the existing directories - no different than the locate new content with subdirectories. This is pretty much a show stopper for me as I tend to rip DVDs then watch them right away.

Thanks.

JavaWiz
2008-07-16, 03:04 AM
just a refresh button that scans the existing directories

Not sure what you mean by 'existing directories'.
Do you mean the 'Archive Locations' on the Plugin Settings tab? Or perhaps another variable that you can specify one or more locations to look for new movies?

jam_zhou
2008-07-16, 11:54 AM
JavaWiz,

I currently have my videos in a directory structure

DVDs
Kid's DVDs
Movies
Kid's Movies

So, these directories would be inputted into the MovieWiz manager manually (could also be the Video Library list) then when I press "refresh" or "locate new content" MovieWiz would search those directories and subdirectories and update the database. Personally, movie info look up is optional (though nice), but appearing in the database as an entry is crucial.

frankmcg
2008-07-16, 02:11 PM
Another vote for this feature from me! As jam_zhou is doing, I also have all my films etc stored on a network drive in networkdrive\films and networkdrive\tv and these are the directories added into the first tab in the manager in the pull down list. Being able to scan those directories from within the interface would be very handy.

JavaWiz
2008-07-16, 03:22 PM
Ok, I'll see about incorporating this kind of feature in the next release. I'm going to be out of town for a couple weeks, so it may be awhile...

jam_zhou
2008-07-16, 03:30 PM
Thanks!!! Good things come to those who wait!