PDA

View Full Version : Am I on the right track?



CarlUman
2004-12-20, 08:25 PM
Just got a laptop so instead of selling my desktop I'm going to make it into a HTPC. *What I'd like to do run the video from the GeForce FX5200 S-video to my TV (55" HDTV widescreen) and skip the monitor. *If I need to use a monitor to get the OS and stuff setup that's no big deal.

I just want to be able to schedule recordings from my DishNetwork (I understand that I will need to also schedule my receiver to change to the correct channel), move my old VCR tapes to DVD, play DVDs, and do the pause/reply thing for live TV.

I have....
Athlon 2400+ (currently running at 3200+ speed)
512MB PC3200
80GB hard drive (have another if needed)
NEC DVD-+RW
Albatron GeForce FX5200
Sound Blaster Audigy2 (don't recall model)
Will get Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-250 (model 980) Unless someone thinks this is a bad idea (cost will be $125)

Sound like I'm on the right track?
Thanks much
Carl


EDIT:
Since I've got the power could I maybe use a less expensive card to get the video in?

reven
2004-12-20, 11:55 PM
get the pvr150 (non mce version), it comes with a irblaster, which hopefully will be supported in gbpvr soon. *this mean gbpvr will automatically change the channel on your dishnetwork for you. *and the 150 is replacing the 250. *and you get a nicer remote http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif.

the rest sounds good.

dont go cheap on the capture card, thats the most important thing, power isnt that big of a deal. most of the time your cpu will be running under 20%

PVR(SWE)
2004-12-21, 07:43 AM
Use FFDSHOW (becuse of the HDTV). Ther is a guide for it on www.htpcnews.com (http://www.htpcnews.com). FFDSHOW takes some CPU power.
/Jonas