PDA

View Full Version : System Requirements for MVP Server



finster
2004-06-10, 11:41 PM
Hi all,

Just a quick question - what kind of system requirements are we looking at for a GB PVR MediaMVP Server???

I have an old Celeron-850 lying around with 384mb RAM.

I was hoping to keep this in the garage and control GB-PVR from a Hauppauge MediaMVP situated in my lounge.

Does anybody know if this is acceptable?

Also, looking forward, is it possible yet to connect multiple MVP's to the same host?

Cheers.

sub
2004-06-10, 11:48 PM
Yes, this machine should be fine. To get the most out of it, you'd probably also want to throw a Hauppauge PVR250 tuner in the machine. This would allow you to record TV and watch LiveTV on the MVP.

Multiple MVPs are supported.

finster
2004-06-10, 11:51 PM
Whoops *http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

Forgot to mention the most important bit..... Yes, I already have a PVR-250, so this looks like a great solution for me.

Keep up the good work - its an awesome piece of software.

Will multiple MVP's work from a single host http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif? *(I am guessing not, cos even Hauppauge's page says that it is under development with their software).

Cheers.

sub
2004-06-11, 12:09 AM
Yes, multiple MVPs should work from the single host. I've only got one myself, but another user has confirm it is working.

finster
2004-06-12, 05:53 PM
Cheers,

I have realised that I also have an old P3-450 hanging around too, with 256 mb RAM.

Am I pushing it for this machine (with a PVR-250) ?

I have managed to get some relative benchmarks for these two processors - the P3-450 is 1500 compared to 2510 with the Cel-850, so its quite a bit slower....

Anybody got any experience of using GB-PVR on an older machine? *Or is it the amount of RAM that is the bottleneck?

Cheers.

hvcpvr
2004-06-12, 05:58 PM
I run it on a Athlon 900 with a TNT2 video card and 256 ram. It will run but a bit sluggish. I think it is more my video card that is my problem. I think for recording you should be ok. It is the viewing of the tv or recorded shows that may be a problem.

sub
2004-06-12, 07:15 PM
I'd think the celeron 850 would run much better than the P3-450, which is getting too slow. the menus would be quite sluggish on this. The faster the better really, but there is nothing to stop you trying it on both these machines to see if its acceptable to you.

2004-06-14, 12:38 PM
I'm running it with my itx M10000 (1GHz C3 processor which I find to be about the speed of a 650-700MHz Duron) with a PVR250 card. It works a treat, video playback and live tv are very smooth. Even smoother them playing them back on my AMD 1800XP. I'm very impressed. I do have a couple of issues with it though (not speed related) which i'm about to create a thread for.

darrenkarp
2004-06-23, 02:53 PM
Quote[/b] (sub @ June 10 2004,22:48)]Yes, this machine should be fine. To get the most out of it, you'd probably also want to throw a Hauppauge PVR250 tuner in the machine. This would allow you to record TV and watch LiveTV on the MVP.

Multiple MVPs are supported.
What would happen if you had more than one MVP and someone paused live TV, would everyone's TV pause?

sub
2004-06-23, 09:15 PM
Currently one client can dedicate use of a tuner at one time.

That said, multiple MVP clients can playback the same file (even if it is still being recorded) and pause indepentantly.

darrenkarp
2004-06-23, 10:43 PM
Quote[/b] (sub @ June 23 2004,20:15)]Currently one client can dedicate use of a tuner at one time.

That said, multiple MVP clients can playback the same file (even if it is still being recorded) and pause indepentantly.
I'ts probably a little late in the UK for me and I have a cold (aww!) but I really don't understand that reply. Are you saying that if 2 of us are watching Sky Satellite TV (obviously the same channel) and one of us pauses it the other will be affected?

Cheers
Darren

sub
2004-06-24, 01:22 AM
I'm saying that if one of you is watching Live TV in GB-PVR, and you only have one tuner, they other user will not be able to watch Live TV. They will get an error that no capture sources are available.