PDA

View Full Version : ewa, config save.



linkdead
2006-11-29, 09:24 AM
Hi there,

I'm using EWA, if I run conifg on the webpage to change settings. After the settings are set, and press submit. All the changes are OK. However if I restard the web browser all the settings are set to defualt. Can anyone help me to troubleshoot this, I have no idea what log files I should check. It seems to be some write security to config file?.

All the epg, recording etc is working perfecetly. It's just the config that doesent apply/saves.

I'm using

GBPVR : GBPVR09813.msi
EWA : gbweb-enhanced.v51.zip

thanks for any help. :)

fuzzweed
2006-11-29, 10:01 AM
for the record, i get exactly this behavior too - except that config does seem to apply the changes, but doesn't 'show' that it has. e.g. change skin to whatever and the skin changes, even though on returning to config it shows 'default' in the skin drop down. Same with streaming format - change it to wmv/mp3 and it streams wmv, but shows mp4 (or whatever the default is) in the drop down.
The issue arises if I change the skin, submit, change the encoding, submit - then it changes the skin back to default because that was what was showing in the dropdown when I submitted the encoder change. (does that make sense??? sorry getting a bit confusing and long winded here...) .
Anyway, i'm using firefox if it matters.

UncleJohnsBand
2006-11-29, 11:02 AM
My guess is that you are blocking cookies either via the browser or some other software....the settings you reference are stored in a cookie on the local machine.

This practice allows a user to have different settings on different machines....such as one set of settings on their laptop, another on their desktop and yet another on their mobile device.

Are you blocking cookies?

linkdead
2006-11-29, 01:28 PM
UncleJohnsBand,

I was clearing all the cookies when exit the web browser. I made an exception for localhost, different machines goodie, now I can use pda in a good way, thanks alot :)

UncleJohnsBand
2006-11-29, 10:23 PM
UncleJohnsBand,

I was clearing all the cookies when exit the web browser. I made an exception for localhost, different machines goodie, now I can use pda in a good way, thanks alot :)


Thats good news....

Hopefully fuzzweed will have a similar setup......

fuzzweed
2006-11-30, 08:51 AM
yup, fiddled with the cookie settings a bit and all ok now. thanks :)

UncleJohnsBand
2006-11-30, 10:59 AM
Great....thanks.