PDA

View Full Version : movieDB - online/offline movies

dottore
2004-08-06, 09:24 PM
hi,

i want to make it official: i am currently working on a plugin, which allows you to include dvd-profiler-data (collection.xml) in gbpvr. the plugin should have following features:

-configurable source of collection.xml.
-add infos from collection.xml to existing movies on harddrive
-search automatically for new movies and add matching entries from collection.xml
-treat folders with multiple movies (series for example) as folders and folders with only one movie as movie (the information from collection.xml matches folders)
-rename the movies from gbpvr

any suggestions, hints and ideas are welcomed! i am new to c#, but i make rather huge steps forward, collection.xml-information is displayed. wait two or three weeks and i will post a pre-alpha-version of this plugin.

i think, in future it would be nice to have a search-function through your offline/online (means on harddrive) movies, but this is after the first release. this plugin should be used with dvdprofiler from intervocative software, but can also be used without it. if sub wants to help, i could also store information from the epg.

edit: @sub: i don't know, what you are planning for the future, maybe, i implement features, which are already planned. could you please comment on my idea? thanks :-)

sub
2004-08-06, 10:17 PM
Sounds like a good idea dottore.

If you have any questions or need help, let me know.

I've just this morning uploaded two more plugins to the plugins page. These both include source code in c#, so may provide useful sample. The DVD Ripper plugin uses the SkinHelper.getNamedImage() method which I now use for dynamically generating the background images and buttons (from descriptions in the skin.xml files). The older examples didn't do this, and were more reliant on images files.

dottore
2004-08-07, 10:23 AM