PDA

View Full Version : GUI only on the TV



AndyCherry
2003-11-29, 06:32 PM
It would be great to be able to use the PVR permanently in the background, rather than being a startable program - assuming you are using the TV out feature of the 350.

I would like to be able to leave my PC on (in my study) and use it as a normal PC, while others use the TV out capabilities in the lounge.

Potential issues - would have to run as a service rather than as a user; would need to stop people from shutting the PC down (or at least warn them that someone was watching TV)

On the "low" side of priorities, as you can just minimise the application on the PC, but would be nice.

sub
2003-11-30, 04:51 PM
The only real problem here is the input. Obviously the application needs to be in the foreground to get the keyboard input. The is alos the case for the IR input from the Hauppauge remote program. I might add support for some other input devices like the UIRT which would mean the app doesn't need to be in the foreground.

AndyCherry
2003-11-30, 06:48 PM
Good point - hadn't thought of that http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/sad.gif

Replacing IR.EXE with something else would help - I'll hunt around and see if I can find anything about the IR code...

AndyCherry
2003-12-07, 11:12 AM
Found it! *It's amazing what you can find on the internet!

I only know VB so have coded up an example in that, but I'm sure it will be very easy to translate to the language you are using.

<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Code Sample </td></tr><tr><td id="CODE">
Option Compare Database
Option Explicit

Declare Function CoInitialize Lib &#34;ole32.dll&#34; &#40;ByVal pvReserved As Long&#41; As Long
Declare Sub CoUninitialize Lib &#34;ole32.dll&#34; &#40;&#41;

Declare Function IR_Open Lib &#34;c&#58;&#92;program files&#92;wintv&#92;irremote.dll&#34; &#40;ByVal val1 As Long, ByVal val2 As Long, ByVal val3 As Long, ByVal val4 As Long&#41; As Long
Declare Function IR_Close Lib &#34;c&#58;&#92;program files&#92;wintv&#92;irremote.dll&#34; &#40;ByVal val1 As Long, ByVal val2 As Long&#41; As Long
Declare Function IR_GetKeyCode Lib &#34;c&#58;&#92;program files&#92;wintv&#92;irremote.dll&#34; &#40;ByRef val1 As Long&#41; As Long

Sub Main&#40;&#41;

*Dim lngCount As Long
*
*Dim lngData As Long
*Dim lngResult As Long
*Dim lngIR_Value As Long
*
*Dim lRet As Long
*
*lRet = CoInitialize&#40;0&#41;
*
*lRet = IR_Open&#40;0, 1, 0, 0&#41;
*
*If lRet &#60;&#62; 1 Then
* *MsgBox &#34;Error opening IR Port&#34;
*Else
* *MsgBox &#34;wait&#34;
* * *
* *Do Until lngIR_Value = 253
* * *lngResult = 1
* * *lngData = IR_GetKeyCode&#40;lngResult&#41;
* * *lngIR_Value = lngData And 255
* * *MsgBox &#34;IR Value was &#34; &amp; lngIR_Value
* *Loop
* *
* *lRet = IR_Close&#40;0, 0&#41;
*
*End If
*
*CoUninitialize
*
End Sub
[/QUOTE]

The codes for the silver remote are as follows:

<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Code Sample </td></tr><tr><td id="CODE">
Green On/Off = 253
0 = 192
1 = 193
2 = 194
3 = 195
4 = 196
5 = 197
6 = 198
7 = 199
8 = 200
9 = 201
Go = 251
Back/Exit = 223
Menu = 205
Red = 203
Green = 238
Yellow = 248
Blue = 233
CH+ = 224
CH- = 225
Vol- = 209
Vol+ = 208
OK = 229
Mute = 207
Blank = 204
Full = 252
&#60;&#60; = 242
&#62; = 245
&#62;&#62; = 244
Record = 247
Stop = 246
Pause = 240
Replay = 228
Skip = 222
[/QUOTE]

Cheers,
Andy

sub
2003-12-07, 05:30 PM
Cheers. Looks quite straight forward. I&#39;ll add it to the upcoming release.

sub
2003-12-07, 06:05 PM
I&#39;m thinking about only enabling this functionality in GBPVR if the Hauppauge remote process (IR.EXE) is not running. Some quick tests show that the either GBPVR or IR.EXE get the remote control data, which would make things a little unpredictable.

sub
2003-12-07, 06:22 PM
Ok, its in place and working well. I&#39;ve also only enabled this if the PVR350 mode is enabled - it didn&#39;t really make sense for users that are viewing via their monitor.

padell
2004-05-05, 04:19 PM
I may be getting excited for no reason, but is this thread indicating that we could recognize the codes for any given remote using the Hauppauge remote reciever?

If so, how difficult would it be to open up the &quot;direct access to Hauppauge remote&quot; area so that you could enter your own codes that correspond to your own remote?

This sounds really interesting, if possible, as the Hauppauge remote definitely has its limitations...

Thanks,
Phil

janviet
2004-05-06, 11:03 PM
Hi Phil,


Quote[/b] ]I may be getting excited for no reason, but is this thread indicating that we could recognize the codes for any given remote using the Hauppauge remote reciever?

If so, how difficult would it be to open up the &quot;direct access to Hauppauge remote&quot; area so that you could enter your own codes that correspond to your own remote? *

This sounds really interesting, if possible, as the Hauppauge remote definitely has its limitations...


I think you are getting a little too excited... http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif ; I doubt that the Hauppauge receiver can be used with every remote out there, but since the remote that comes with the PVR-250 transmits RC5 codes, I expect the Hauppauge can handle any RC5 code, and not just the system 31 codes the Hauppauge remote is transmitting. If I&#39;m right, you should be able to use any RC5 remote.

Since RC5 is a Philips IR protocol, I suggest you try a Philips (or Magnavox) remote. Keep in mind though, that some of these, like STB remotes, transmit RC6 and I don&#39;t know if the Hauppauge receiver supports that protocol.

Regards,

Jan

bitter_old_man
2004-05-07, 12:03 AM
This thread (http://www.shspvr.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4652) may be helpful.

Barry

padell
2004-05-12, 07:42 PM
Thanks All. Very helpful&#33;