PDA

View Full Version : Install over a previous version



ibweasel
2004-03-16, 09:14 PM
I made the mistake of doing an uninstall first and then re-installing. That killed all my seetings http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/sad.gif What is the proper method? Modify or repair? My guess is modify, but I'll let the experts tell me.

Thanks,
Paul

sub
2004-03-16, 09:27 PM
Seetings? Currently there is no upgrade process so you need to uninstall the previous version, followed by an install of any new version. This does have the unfortunately side effect of deleting any recordings. The file are of course still there, but they will no longer be listed in your recordings screen. Any scheduled recordings will need to be reentered.

This may or may not have answered your question...

ibweasel
2004-03-16, 09:38 PM
It killed all my setup (recording device, EPG settings, etc). Is that supposed to be saved? Are there files I can copy before un-installing to make this transition smoother.

Good job on V0.14 though, it is working wonderfully.

Thanks,
Paul

box177
2004-03-16, 09:53 PM
You can try (as me) saving config.xml and gbpvr.mdb but you must merge new entries in xml file and database is hard to modify because of table constraints and record auto-numbering (Sub, please... *http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif ).

sub
2004-03-16, 10:48 PM
For now you will have to set it up manually. At the moment each time you install, you start from scratch.

Its on the todo list, but not at the top. If it had been easy I would have done it a long time ago.

Dai
2004-03-17, 05:16 PM
- I put this in another thread but then realised it was more relevant to this one - oops!

When I upgraded, I didn't uninstall v13. When I ran setup, I used the option to re-install all components previously installed.

All of my settings and recordings were retained apart from:

- Directories for recordings and media files
- Output to PVR350 (although I guess this is because this used to be a checkbox and now is a list of options including XCard).

All my channels, recordings and other settings were as they should be after the intall.

Made it very quick to update :o)

seems to have worked but I might still do a full uninstall and reinstall to see if that get rid of any of the problems I still have.

ibweasel
2004-03-18, 01:31 AM
Was that a Repair or Modify that you did Dai?

Paul